Skip to content

Redefining "taking a walk"

March 2, 2007

The weather is finally starting to get warmer. The car’s in the shop so DH took the minivan to work with him yesterday. Stupid me forgot to take the stroller out of it before he left. So, I woke up all eager to take a walk and couldn’t. Finally, after lunch I decided that since both of the girls walk really well that there’s no reason why we couldn’t take a walk anyway. What was I smoking?

We walked around the block. And by walk I mean that R wandered to the left and A wandered to the right. I picked A up and carried her to where R was. Then they tugged on the neighbors fence for a while. I distracted them enough to get them to toddle a few more houses down. We live in a row home in the middle of the block. Our progress was pretty much one house down, two houses back, three houses down, one house back, carry R (much more headstrong) and get A to follow me for two houses…well, you get the idea. Our walk took so long that DH actually got home when we were only 3/4 of the way around the block. And even with his help it took another 15 minutes.

It was still so much fun. They love being able to walk all over the place and it’s so cute to hear their feet slapping against the pavement. I put biter biscuits in their hand about 1/3 of the way around and it mostly prevented them from picking up yucky stuff.

After some pouring rain last night and this morning it’s turned into a gorgeous afternoon. Perhaps we’ll try another “walk” when they wake up from their nap.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Carrie permalink
    March 2, 2007 9:56 pm

    Hi Mommy Brain! Thanks for stopping by – I am happy to find a new SAHM blog to read.

  2. Romie permalink
    March 7, 2007 6:48 pm

    That walk sounds like fun. I just have the one and it is fun to get her to take walks with me.

Leave a Reply

