Skip to content

It’s tough being an "R"

March 15, 2007

When we learned we were having twin girls we decided to name one after my mother and the other after DH’s mother. A was my mother’s name and her nickname and my childhood nickname are the same. When she cries I often tell her “It’s tough being an A. I know, I was an A once.” Now, I’ve never been an R. So, when R cries I tell her “It’s tough being R. Granny’ll tell you.”

Today, R developed some sort of runny nose/cough and was just being miserable. She was crying and mad that I wouldn’t let her play with my cell phone. I ended up telling her “It’s tough being R, let’s call Granny and she call tell you why.” And we did. Thankfully, my MIL didn’t hang up when I called and let R scream/cry into the phone for a few minutes. She’s a good grandmother.

And yes, R is the same poor child who came down with the stomach virus 9 days ago. The cold I had a little bit back was caught by DH last week and I guess R picked it up. My cousin tells me that it’s probably just a coincidence that they’re getting sick right as I finished weaning but I’m not so sure. I feel like someone’s trying to tell me something.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

