Skip to content

Motivationless Monday

March 19, 2007

LOST: My Motivation
Last spotted in my laundry room. May have inadvertently been tossed in the diaper pail during great stomach virus outbreak of March 2007. If found send it my way and ask it to pick up more diapers on the way home. Thanks.
_____________________________________

My middle name is Soon.

No, literally, my middle name is Soon. I was adopted from Korea when I was 3 months old and the name given to me at birth was Soon Young Kwon. When I arrived in the US my parents kept my Korean first name as my middle name. As a child/teenager my friends would ask about my unusual middle name and maybe tease me if I was late for something.

When I first found out I was having twins I did alot of searching for advice online. The one piece of advice I still poke fun of was a list who’s Rule #1 advised mothers of twins to “become an organized and efficient person.” It just struck me as such a big order. Most of the other lists I’d found started with thing like buy two bouncy seats. In reality, organization is so key to survival with twins and luckily I was a pretty organized person to begin with. You’ve never truly multi-tasked until you’re trying to work from home while feeding two babies and pumping milk for the next feeding. Suggestion #1 should really be “grow an extra pair of hands.”

Despite the required organization of my “twinsane” household, I still sometime revert to my Soon-is-my-middle-name tendencies. Like today, when I should be doing a million and one household tasks or working on some MOMs club stuff. Instead, I’ve been playing online reading some very funny blogs (read Dad said, Mom said if you need a good laugh) and in general doing a great job of ignoring the dishes in the sink. Hmm, I’ve got about an hour left until naptime is over. I guess I better get back to work.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Perky permalink
    March 19, 2007 7:51 pm

    Grrrrr…. I just left you a long comment and Blogger ate the darn thing! I gotta run right now, but I’ll check back in later.

  2. Mama's Moon permalink
    March 20, 2007 4:59 am

    Ha! Motivation – schmotivation. And same goes for being an organized/efficient person. Don’t you just learn to become that person as your mommy-life evolves? Crazy. An extra pair of hands would definitely be a good thing (maybe two!).

    Good God, woman, get back to work! (teehee!)

  3. M-j permalink
    March 20, 2007 12:58 pm

    I think perhaps soon should be my middle name. I am the world’s biggest procrastinator. Why do today what you can put off until tomorrow, right?
    But, rule #1 is totally right on. For any parent, for any amount of kids. If you can stay organized (and I don’t mean, super efficient, I just mean basics) and get simple routines done each day, then you will be soooo much happier. Motivation be darned.

Leave a comment