Skip to content

You know you need to clean your house when…

March 20, 2007

Conversation from yesterday evening after dinner:

DH: Can A have an apple slice?
Me: If she’s still hungry. Apples are in the fridge. Just don’t cut the slices too big.
DH: No, she’s already eating one.
Me: Where did she get it?
DH: I don’t know.
Me: I haven’t given them apple slices in two days. Ewwwwww!

I still have no idea where she found the apple slice but I guess it’s time for a detailed cleaning of the dining room.

On a much happier note, the girls have finally started to sign. It’s so cute to see them banging their hands together to signal “more” or slamming their fingers into their mouth so I know they want to “eat.” (They seem to think that the harder they do the sign the faster I will get them what they want…) A is especially good at it. So far it’s just eat, more, down, and ball. They do the sign for book but I’m not positive they fully understand what it means. They’ve also gotten alot more talkative (and by talk I mean babble). We have whole “conversations” now. Mostly with me asking “R, did you sleep well last night?” and her responding “ba-da-byah-ah.” But we all have to start somewhere. At least I don’t feel like I’m talking to myself anymore.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. carrie permalink
    March 20, 2007 9:26 pm

    Man, isn’t that exciting to be able to start to communicate with them? Huge milestone…congratulations!

    The best is when they can say the words and still use the “sign” as they say it…like reinforcing that they want “MORE!” or “ALL DONE!!).

  2. M-j permalink
    March 21, 2007 12:04 pm

    That is awesome that they are beginning to sign! DO you have signing time?

  3. Mommy Brain permalink
    March 21, 2007 3:47 pm

    m-j, we’ve been using the baby einstein videos and a DVD I got from the library that’s been teaching me more signs. I mostly relied on books to teach me how to teach them. I’ve heard great things about singing times but had trouble finding it in stores.

  4. Rachel permalink
    March 22, 2007 6:53 pm

    I just clicked on your blog when reading MJ’s and after reading a little bit I figured ou who you are. I didn’t know you had a blog! Now I have to read your past entries.

Leave a Reply

