Skip to content

Why my Husband isn’t a Stay at Home Dad

April 1, 2007
Today we took advantage of A being sick and took turns spending one on one quality time with R. In the morning R came with me to the playground then we ran some errands. In the afternoon R went out with Dad. The last time R went out with Dad, he took her to the playground and R really enjoyed watching people play basketball. So, Dad figured he would bring a basketball and let R watch him shoot hoops. The best of both worlds.

Evidently, at one point an errant rebound landed on R’s head. Naturally, this did not please R and she proceeded to have a good full volume cry. Which brings us to reason #1 DH is not a SAHD:

-He admits (albeit, shamefacedly) that his first instinct was to retrieve the basketball rather than pick up screaming daughter. Evidently some mom playing with her son on the same court noticed and told him somewhat pointedly that she would go get the ball.

I laughed when he told me. Having two at once made me a little more relaxed about spills and such. Plus it was obvious that no lasing harm was done. But I still would have comforted the baby before retrieving the ball…

Reason #2 is this:

Nothing says “My Dad dressed me” like boy’s camoflague pants and a pink sweatshirt. I have no idea where he found those pants. I think they were from the take-me-to-Goodwill bag after I had sorted through some clothes from my cousin’s kids.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Swistle permalink
    April 2, 2007 8:47 pm

    Aw, she looks darling! That’s the kind of outfit my husband chooses, too.

  2. Mama's Moon permalink
    April 2, 2007 9:36 pm

    It’s funny you pointed out her duds at the end of your post. I had been thinking that that is EXACTLY what my Hubby would’ve put her in (including baseball cap) on his way to the basketball court. Ha! That story is funny – poor daddies! When faced with a dilemna they’re just straight-up comedy, aren’t they?

  3. M-j permalink
    April 3, 2007 1:27 am

    I think she looks cute. But then again, as a mom of boys, there is tons of camo in our wardrobes. Pink and camo, the new pink.

  4. movin'mom permalink
    April 3, 2007 3:17 am

    Perhaps it’s the Beyonce “Survivor” look.

    Thanks for stopping by!

    I just recently had this background but recently redecorated…It was nice to see it again.

Leave a Reply

