Skip to content

Day 3 of 5

April 5, 2007

This week is spring break for DH. I love my husband dearly but I usually spent Mondays recovering from the weekend. Whenever he is home we go off our routines. Housework stops getting done. Nap times are missed. Chaos rules.

Monday was a bit problematic. I was fully in it’s-Monday-let’s-get-back-into-our-routines mode. We had people coming for dinner on Tuesday and the house was in pretty bad shape between the sickness and the weekend. DH was completely in it’s-vacation-time-what-do-you-mean-you-have-to-do-laundry? (In his world, the laundry fairies make the clothes clean while I play with the kids all day.)

We also have a big issue with spontaneity. With multiples, I need structure. I need to be able to plan. I need to know where we are going, how long it will take to get there and will we be home for nap time? He’s very big on hop in the car and see where we end up. This was great when we were dating/married without kids. This is not good when we’ve tried outing like this that result in two screaming kids.

I hope I survive the rest of spring break.

On a happier note, R has started consistently signing for “drink” (very useful) and “tree” (not so useful, but still cool). She also starting kind of saying her name after we say it. A likes to sign “baby” (again, not too useful but very cute) and “book.” She says ba-bee while she signs it and does this almost every time a picture of a baby is in a book or on TV. We’re still working on getting her to do it to an actual real life baby.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Swistle permalink
    April 5, 2007 11:15 am

    It’s the same at our house. THE.SAME. Paul is always wanting to just take off, why do we always have to TALK so much about things? And then, if he goes out with some kids by himself, he never has anything he needs. THAT’S why we have to TALK so much about things, bonehead.

  2. Mommy Daisy permalink
    April 5, 2007 12:51 pm

    Oh, I know how this is. My Mondays are spend “catching up” too. Because nothing gets done on the weekends. I’m glad my husband doesn’t have a spring break. It’s bad enough when he has one day off.

    Way to go with the signing. I think the baby sign is the cutest to me. For some reason my son won’t sign drink. He knows the sign, but he will only sign eat for eating or drinking. Oh well. He knows enough other signs that I’ll let it slide.

  3. Rachel permalink
    April 5, 2007 12:54 pm

    Oh, I totally get this. Chas is on spring break this week, too, as are all three kids. The way we work it is we split up the weeks so he’s responsible for the kids on some days/partial days and I am on the other days. But I still need time to recover from the weekends/breaks.

  4. M-j permalink
    April 5, 2007 2:00 pm

    UGH! I HEAR YOU!!!!
    I swear my usually-awesome-but-sometimes-deft husband thinks the house cleans itself. Uh, it ain’t a snake shedding skin, sweetie! When he works from home or takes a day off he makes me BONKERS!!! And he makes suggestions about my routines and such. The nerve.

Leave a Reply

