Skip to content

Why I Do All the Food Shopping

April 6, 2007

On Tuesday we were having a good friend over for dinner. He was bring his new girlfriend whom we had only met briefly once before. In other words, someone we’d like to made a good impression on. Plus, she’s a pediatrician. I didn’t want her to find out right away how unhealthy we are. My DH wanted to get out of the house on Monday night so he got to go food shopping while I did some cleaning. I asked him to pick up a few things for dinner including a salad kit.

On Tuesday night I take the salad out of the fridge and find that it is not salad. It is a bag of romaine lettuce. Here’s a rough idea of our conversation:

Me: This isn’t salad. It’s lettuce. Didn’t they have salad.
Him: They had a bunch of different kinds but they all had things in them that I didn’t like.
I foolishly ask: Like what?
Him: Carrots, radishes, snow peas
Me: Oh, things that make it salad??????

So despite a rather exasperated discussion, there was nothing I could do. I was forced to serve lettuce with the three baby carrots (in other words, 2 inches long each) I found in the bottom of the crisper.

Fast forward to Thursday night. We have friends coming for dinner tonight. I asked him to pick up a few things. (Silly me.) We joked alot about making sure he brings home actual salad. I explained that, to avoid the carrots and tomatoes, he should look for Ceasar Salad Kit that comes with the cheese and everything in the bag. We even reviewed that to be salad there needs to be more than just lettuce.

Here’s what happened when he got home:

DH: See, I did good. I got Italian Salad.
Me: (looking at bag) It’s not salad.
DH: What do you mean? There’s more than just lettuce in there.
Me: No, it says “Romaine Lettuce and Radicchio” Radicchio is pretty much just like lettuce. When it says on the bag “a great start to your gourmet salad” you can tell it’s not salad.

*sigh*

I guess I’ll be stopping for carrots and tomatoes after Church…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Perky permalink
    April 6, 2007 6:06 pm

    Wow – that sounds eerily like conversations that happen at my house!!! I think it’s just men’s way of making sure that we don’t ask them to do anything they don’t want to do!

  2. Rachel permalink
    April 7, 2007 12:01 am

    Men can be very frustrating at times. 🙂

Leave a Reply

