Skip to content

Easter Fun

April 9, 2007

Saturday we took the girls to an Easter Egg hunt. Do you know how hard it is for a 15 month old to pick up a plastic egg when she has mittens on her hands? Yep, it was cold enough to require mittens AND it even snowed. (Well, flurries, but either way there was snow falling from the sky on the day before Easter.) Still, R made a good effort and once we ditched the mittens she had a lot of fun throwing eggs into her basket. A didn’t care for the uneven ground and spent most of the hunt in Daddy’s arms clutching one little plastic egg. R won favored daughter of the moment status when I discovered that 90% of her eggs contained chocolate. A (okay, really DH) gathered 10 eggs filled mostly with Starburst. I think this will be great fun for them next year when it hopefully isn’t 30 degree weather and they will be old enough that no one gets carried around.

On Sunday it was colder than it was on Christmas. We had a nice afternoon at my in laws. I was looking forward to the traditional ham dinner. Instead, we had meatball sandwiches and Italian sausage. Evidently, DH had told MIL that R really liked the Italian sausage he had made. So MIL wanted to make R her sausage. Then realized that there was too much food now that she had made a zillion meatballs, a ton of sauce and sausage. So she ditched cooking the ham at all.

Now, not to sound ungrateful, (because hey, anyone else’s cooking is one less meal I have to make) but we eat pasta/meatballs a lot. We are on a budget. Meatballs are cheap. We had just had Italian Sausage twice in the past 10 days. I was really, really, really looking forward to ham. But my 15 month old daughter “likes” Italian Sausage so that’s what was cooked. Ironically, since we ate earlier than the girls, both R and A were fed the dinner I had packed them and not one bite of Italian Sausage was consumed by either one. Go figure.

Not that dinner mattered too much. It was my first day eating chocolate since Fat Tuesday so I may have gone a little overboard. What with the hot chocolate and chocolate donuts for breakfast, the nutella (delicious hazelnut and cocoa spread) sandwich for lunch, and the countless Hershey kisses in between.

Finally, I’ve had people look at me funny when I explain that it’s hard to find time to make breakfast, let alone take a shower. I guess it’s difficult to fully describe why you can’t turn your back for an instant on these two. So I offer you this photo:

Sunday morning I made the mistake of putting their Easter baskets on the dining room table. They weren’t even close to the edge or anything.

I was in the basement getting a load of laundry out of the dryer. DH was upstairs getting a shower. We both thought the other one was watching the kids. We were trying to get out of the house on time.

I came back upstairs to find the contents of one basket strewn all over both the dining room (pictured) and living room. That stupid grass stuff was everywhere and A was walking around with the basket on her head. Someone, and they still won’t tell me who…okay, probably because they can’t talk…managed to flip over their toy bin and use it as a step stool to reach the table. So after repeating “no-grabbing-from-table” to them a few times I cleaned up the mess. I also got the basket off A’s head. She did have the sense to give me a needed laugh by pointing to the basket, doing the baby sign for “hat”, and saying “haa, haa” a few times.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Swistle permalink
    April 9, 2007 5:29 pm

    I can’t work out morning showering, either. I have to shower the night before, and then dunk my hair under the faucet in the morning. I don’t like doing it this way, but at least it means there’s a shower.

  2. Mommy Daisy permalink
    April 10, 2007 12:59 am

    Glad to hear they had a little fun with the Easter eggs. We just put a bunch of eggs on the floor for the little ones. They did well with that.

    Uggh, too bad you didn’t get any ham. 😦 If you lived next door, I’d definately bring you a slice of leftover ham I brought home.

    Oh, but so yummy chocolate!

    Uh, no showers. It’s hard for me some days, and I just have one. I’m sure it’s no fun.

    And the mess…funny. But it’s never funny in the moment. Cute about the “hat” though. I love sign language. It astonished me every time my son signs a new word. I think he signed 2 new ones just yesterday.

  3. M-j permalink
    April 10, 2007 1:56 am

    Teehee! that’s what my house looks like ALL THE TIME!
    Sorry, don’t mean to laugh.

Leave a Reply

