Skip to content

Too Stupid to Say No Club

April 10, 2007

It’s official. I am now a card carrying member of the “Too Stupid to Say No” Club.

A few years back I was at a National Board meeting for a group I’m in and was talking to one of the other women who had held a ton of offices over the years. At the last convention she had declared that she would not be taking any more positions. But she was there because she had been asked to chair the next national convention and said yes. She commented that as a member of the “Too Stupid to Say No” Club she couldn’t refuse.

I was intrigued by this club. I suspected that I might be a candidate for membership. After all, I’m a type A kind of person who likes to be busy. I was serving in a position that required a lot of travel while also trying to finish my degree (part time), working (full time), planning my wedding (full time – ha-hah), and working a part time job. Hmmm.

But today it became official. I expect my membership card in the mail any day now.

What sent me over the edge was my agreeing to babysit a very active, rarely-disciplined, non-verbal 2 year old. I’m not sure why I agreed. The last time my girls interacted with this particular little boy he wouldn’t stop hitting and pushing them. He is a bit wild and used to getting (grabbing forcefully) whatever he wants. I really think I could babysit another set of twins more easily than this one little boy.

So why did I agree? Oh, right, I’m in the TS2SN Club. Okay, okay, and possibly because I have a lot of experience with how hard it is to find a babysitter as a SAHM. (or in this case SAHD.)

At any rate, my TS2SN self woke up an hour early to begin watching B. Things were pretty good until A and R woke up. I knew that twins meant 3 times the work as 1 baby. I didn’t realize that twins plus one meant 10 times the work. Toys that are perfectly innocent in my 15 month old’s hands were horrible missiles of destruction in B’s hands. Food that B’s parents left for him to eat (ie-Marshmallows for breakfast?!?!) was not okay for my girls resulting in tears. He was only here for four hours and I’m exhausted.

So I’m going to put a “Just Say No” sign over my computer and repeat it daily….until the next time they ask me for help. πŸ™‚

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Mommy Daisy permalink
    April 10, 2007 6:40 pm

    Uh oh. I tend to do things like that. It WAS nice of you to help them out for a few hours. I’ve decided that sometimes I just have to say no with certain tasks, ie. a kid I can’t handle long. Maybe next time you can “just happen to have plans” the day they need someone. πŸ˜‰

  2. M-j permalink
    April 10, 2007 6:49 pm

    Hey! I am a card-carrying member of that club! I am watching an extra today, and have yet to sit and eat. I’ve been walking and grazing instead!

  3. Perky permalink
    April 10, 2007 8:29 pm

    LOL! I know EXACTLY what you mean! I’m the same way! I’m trying soooooo hard to leave that particular club, but somehow….. I just can’t get out! So…. if you find that you need a vice-president for your chapter of the TS2SN club, PLEASE don’t ask me — because you KNOW that I’m TS2SN!!!!

  4. carrie permalink
    April 11, 2007 2:49 pm

    Oooohhh! Can I join the TS2SN Club too?? I seem to already fit the requirements. Unpacking a house, making a birthday cake and dinner for my four-year old and I say “yes” to watching 2 more kids?? For a total of 4, for the entire day. Aye…it has been a long week.

  5. CindyPTN permalink
    March 12, 2008 5:23 am

    Oh, I’m in. I’m in. I sympathize with you. Saying No is so hard to do.

Leave a Reply

