Skip to content

15 Month Well Visit

April 12, 2007

Today was the girls’ 15 month well visit. I did a great job getting out of the house early, if I do say so myself. We pulled into the pediatrician’s parking lot 20 minutes before the appointment! Don’t get too impressed. It takes an average of 5 minutes to park. In their effort to fit as many parking spaces as possible in, they painted the lines very close together. It was a tight fit when I used to drive a little compact car. Now, with my minivan I have about 2 inches to spare on each side. I’m not exaggerating on the tight fit. I once witnessed someone in a Suburban crawling in thought the trunk. After I finally squeezed into a spot I promptly pledged to lose another 5 pounds so that maybe I could actually get out of the van. Then it took another 5 minutes to unload. Still, I pushed the stroller up to the building congratulating myself on being 10 minutes early.

Silly me. It’s never that easy.

I walk up to the building. Odd. Lots of people are streaming out of that back door. Hmm, there’s a funny buzzing noise. And isn’t that door the emergency exit?

Are you kidding me? The fire alarm was going off. *sigh* We ended up standing outside in the cold for a good 10 minutes waiting for the fire drill to end. Then I endured 10 minutes watching rude people push by me/step over me/jostle my kids to get on the elevator. After watching the 8th elevator leave without me on it, I plowed my way into the freight elevator and dared anyone to risk getting run over by my double stroller.

A. didn’t care for being in the overcrowded elevator and promptly started signing “down” then tried to climb out. Halfway up she started crying. At the top of her lungs. I’m sure she must have stopped crying at some point before we traveled back down almost 2 hours later…but I can’t really think of when that was.

The doctor examined R first. I do this because R usually takes doctor visits much better than A. When the doctor started examining R, A began screaming her head off like she was being eaten alive. The doc tried to show it was okay by putting the stethoscope up to A’s Elmo doll. She would have been less upset if he had decapitated Elmo and played volleyball with the head. The doc, who must really love kids, just smiled and said that twins sometimes have such a bond that if one is bothered the other gets upset too. He deemed this “pretty neat.” Honestly, I’d rather have been able to hear myself think than have such strongly bonded children. (Okay, a few hours later, I’m a little happier about their bond. Perhaps when the ringing in my ears completely stops I’ll be able to think it’s “pretty neat” too.)

If I thought A’s screaming was bad when R was being checked it was nothing compared to when it was actually her turn. Oh, and meanwhile R was expressing her displeasure at being put down by crying at full volume. So while the doctor was asking me all those developmental milestone questions I picked them both up. They still cried. I got tired (and sweaty from the hot, cramped room) so I put R back down. More tears. (She left a puddle of them on the floor before I finally got to pick her up again.) Then the nurses (yes, two. Nurse #1 brought reinforcements after her first experience with my little angels) came in with their immunizations. There is nothing like holding your baby down while two women jab her with sharp objects. And then have to repeat the process.

All in all, I was a very thankful mommy when we were finally released. You’d think that after the last visit I would have learned but I will definitely, definitely try to bring someone else with me to the next appointment. The good news is that they don’t have to get any more shots until the 4 year well visit. The bad news is that I have to come back in 2 weeks for a weight check. They’ve each only gained a few ounces since their 12 month visit.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. M-j permalink
    April 12, 2007 11:55 am

    Oh No, not the weight check! Those drive me crazy!

    Hello! They are twins! They were born small! They ARE small. They need less calories, so they consume less calories, so they use less calories, etc, etc.

    Off my soapbox now, sorry. That is just one of my pet peeves. Let’s just make a mommy feel even more flustered and pressured!

  2. Mommy Daisy permalink
    April 12, 2007 1:36 pm

    Yikes. That is wuite a tramatic visit. Thank goodness you don’t have to go too often.

    Oh no, a weight check. At least it will be quicker, and hopefully no fire drills this time. 😉

Leave a Reply

