Skip to content

How to Tell Identical Twins Apart

April 18, 2007

Whenever people hear that I have identical twins, they often ask me how I tell them apart. Honestly, they don’t look alike to me. At least once a week I tell my husband that the doctor made a mistake and they aren’t identical. He just laughs and points out that only 1 out of their 4 grandparents can tell them apart consistently.

Here’s some ways I’ve used to tell my girls apart:

-At birth this was easy. R outweighed A by a full pound – trust me, you can tell when you’re talking 5 lbs vs. 6 lbs.

-When we cut their hospital id bracelets off I painted R’s toenail purple just in case my sleep deprived self got mixed up.

-Later we noticed that A had some distinguishing birthmarks and R had none. So if worse comes to worse, we can always strip them down and check for who’s who.

-We usually dress them differently. They have their own colors. If one is wearing green or blue it’s probably A. If one is wearing purple or yellow it’s probably R.

However, this weekend we discovered a new strategy. Just have R tackle A trying to get a toy away from her. Have R land face first on said toy. Have R’s face look like this:

Well, at least complete strangers (and my Dad) can tell them apart now. *sigh*

3 Comments leave one →
  1. M-j permalink
    April 18, 2007 3:40 pm

    What a fab idea! A black eye! That’ll do it!
    I’ve never heard a mommy of identicals say that she couldn’t tell them apart.

  2. Swistle permalink
    April 18, 2007 7:13 pm

    That’s genius! Way better than the temporary tattoo idea Paul just told me about for twins.

  3. Mommy Daisy permalink
    April 19, 2007 12:06 am

    Aww. I’m not sure that’s the best way to tell them apart though. Funny.

    Seriously, though, we have a set of identical twins (3 sets of twins total) where I tutor after school. It took me less than a week to tell them apart. Only a few of us employees (or even students for that matter) can tell them apart unless they ask. Sometimes it takes me a minute when they first get there to tell who’s who, but there are just enough subtle differences and the way they talk gives them up. (Oh, their mom ALWAYS dressed them alike…down to their backpacks.)

Leave a Reply

