Skip to content

Tired of the News

April 18, 2007

I know the tragedy at Virgina Tech is on many people’s minds. It’s certainly on the news.

I could use my little piece of cyber space to bring up my views on gun control. This AP News story says it pretty well. I would love for my children to grow up in a society where there were no guns out there for anyone with $500 and proof of residency to purchase.

I could talk about how I, like the South Korean Embassy, am concerned that this could “stir up racial prejudice or confrontation.” As someone who was born in Seoul, I get a little nervous when I hear the news people harp on where someone was born.

I could talk about how sad I am for former colleagues and classmates who lost friends and loved ones. I used to work on in Residence Life on a college campus. I logged into Facebook this morning and read post after post from students I used to work with who grew up with so-and-so or met so-and-so at a conference last year.

But really, I’m just tired of the news. On Monday I made the mistake of clicking on a link to the Fox News website that was emailed to me. I was appalled at the pictures they published. (Pause to say goodbye to at least one reader who will now go look up fox news’ site.) I’m tired of the 24/7 coverage – and I don’t even have cable. I was channel surfing tonight and caught a few minutes of CBS’ footage of the Convocation at VT. It disgusted me to see them zooming in on mourners who would shy away from the camera to hide their tears.

Okay, now I’m just tired. But I feel a little better having gotten that off my chest. Perhaps now my mind will finally shut down and let me get some sleep.

One Comment leave one →
  1. M-j permalink
    April 18, 2007 12:44 pm

    YOu GO, girl!
    I am so tired of media saturation of these events. It isn’t that I don’t care, it’s just that they are like predators swooping down on victims like a hawk. It makes me nuts.

Leave a Reply

