Skip to content

Return to Sanity

May 18, 2007

I can’t believe how the time is just flying by. I was trying to get into the habit of posting daily. Obviously, I’m not succeeding.

On Monday evening R. threw up. All over me. I really do mean all over me. Hair, shirt, pants and shoes. Thankfully, we were outside. Tuesday she showed no other symptoms except a fever and crankiness. Lots of crankiness. If you live in the tri-state area and thought you heard a wolf howling 24/7 this week you aren’t going crazy. It’s just the yell of one seriously cranky 16 month old.

Wednesday she still had the fever and no other symptoms. They wanted to see her because their policy is that if there’s fever present in a child under 2 years old for more than 24 hours with no other symptoms present then they schedule an appointment. It was an evening appointment and my generous, wonderful husband took R to the doctors while I stayed home with A. (I’m really tired of the doctor’s office.) They couldn’t find anything wrong with her so they just said come back Friday if the fever hasn’t gone down.

There was much celebrating today when the fever dropped. (Did I mention how tired I am of the doctor’s office?) She’s still pretty cranky and I keep assuming that A will throw up any minute now. (To the point that I’ve been feeding her stuff that would be…umm…easy to…well…clean up…) But things are starting to look up and A hasn’t shown any symptoms….yet.

The toughest part about the past three days was the absence of nap time. Because R was sick she fell back to a morning and afternoon nap schedule. A’s regular nap time pretty much started when R woke up from her morning snooze and ended around the time that R wanted to go back to sleep. And R’s been up all night. (At least, it feels that way.) So it’s been all baby, all the time around here.

I underestimated how much I really need the 2-3 hour break every afternoon. Not just to do dishes or my flylady routines. (The house is disgusting right now. Yes, I know, stop blogging and start cleaning.) But to just to do whatever I wanted for 15 minutes. To check email, to read my favorite blogs, to find out what’s happening in the rest of the world. Tuesday it was kind of fun to have one on one time with each girl. Wednesday was okay. Still nice to cuddle on the couch. Thursday was the breaking point. I almost cried when I got my DH’s message that he was running late getting home from work.

Thankfully, I had my MOMs club meeting tonight and it really helped me return to sanity. Just getting out of the house and have some adult conversation can do wonders.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Rachel permalink
    May 18, 2007 11:57 am

    Ugh. Hang in there – it’s bound to get better soon. 🙂

  2. Domestic Goddess permalink
    May 18, 2007 1:55 pm

    Yuckadoo! Hate those moments!
    As for the housework, there is ALWAYS housework to do. You cannot always get a break and you can’t always cuddle on the couch. I say forget the housework, do what is abso-smurfly necessary and the heck with the rest until things get back to normal.

Leave a Reply

