Skip to content

Day 2 of a shiny sink

May 22, 2007

Yesterday was a good day. I think Flylady would be proud. I did my 15 minutes of decluttering and shined my sink before bed. This morning’s Beginner BabySteps #2 is getting dressed to shoes. This was an easy one for me. No matter how many times I’ve fallen off the flylady wagon in the past 9 months, this one usually sticks. I realized long ago that my day is way more productive if I’m wearing shoes when I come downstairs.

My spin on this step is to also dress the girls before we come downstairs. The days where breakfast is eaten in pajamas are usually days we don’t leave the house. But if they’re already dressed then it’s really easy to take a walk or go to the playground after breakfast. So I’m trying to make a bigger effort to check the weather the night before so I know how to dress them.

My other accomplishment yesterday was to start writing out my to do lists. I was thinking about how in college I was president of my sorority, VP of student government, worked part time, took 18 credits, and still had a social life. How did I manage to do all that but I can’t find time to take a 1 mile walk each day AND do laundry? Lists. That’s the answer. I was the master of lists. They were color coded and travelled wherever I went. So part of my before bed routine is to make up my to do list for the next day.

Coincidentally, Rachel just posted about www.tadalist.com which is a free online list keeper. Now I have to figure out if I want to have my lists with me when I’m not at home (paper) or if it’s better to have them online in a cool system.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Lynne permalink
    May 22, 2007 5:38 pm

    I’m a flybaby too. It is a slow process, but as the kids get older, I think I’ll get better at the routines.

  2. Rachel permalink
    May 22, 2007 9:23 pm

    Congrats on your progress! I found having the kids dressed before we came downstairs to make a HUGE difference in our day. I think I’m giong to jump back on the flylady wagon too right along with you (I know, we’re not behind . . . )

  3. Domestic Goddess permalink
    May 23, 2007 1:51 am

    Awesome job!
    We’ve all fallen off the wagon a few times. Just get right back on! Start where you can!
    I also make the boys get dressed before they come down, it makes my life much easier.

Leave a Reply

