Skip to content

Day 5 – Missed my flight

May 26, 2007

Okay, today was not a good day. I seriously fell off wagon today. The babies woke up at 4:30am and insisted that they were hungry. So we all had a nice 5am breakfast then went back to sleep from about 6am – 9:30am. Which threw a lot of my plans off. I will say that the one really great thing about flylady is that you can be seriously sleep deprived in the morning but she’s not kidding about the morning routine gets you on auto pilot. Still, I missed my morning walk completely, never made it to the library or grocery store, and didn’t get the laundry folded until 4pm.

Today’s beginning babystep is to “Write down what you hear.” It includes

– Getting Dressed to lace up shoes (Done!)
– Keeping our sink shining (Done!)
– Reading 2 minutes of Reminders (Done!)
– Looking at our posted reminders in the kitchen and bathroom (oops – ’cause I never wrote them down to begin with.)

The other piece is to listen to the negative voices in my head and turn them into positives. Here goes….
Voice in head: You are a bad housekeeper
Positive spin: I am not a housekeeper. I am a stay at home mom. Emphasis on the mom. The kids are still alive. I’m doing a good job.

Voice in head: The house is a mess.
Positive spin: I’m doing something about this.

Voice in head: You are lazy because you sat and read for an hour during nap time instead of doing the many tasks on your list.
Positive spin: Okay this is kind of true but the book was really good and I just had to finish it. Plus, I got an hour lunch break when i worked outside the home. Surely I deserve one now…

Okay, now the voices in my head are saying unrelated things like “go to bed” and “stop wasting time on the internet.” So, goodnight!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Rachel permalink
    May 26, 2007 5:22 pm

    Glad you went to bed when you did. I was seriously sleep deprived yesterday because I couldn’t bring myself to go to bed, and then I did the same thing last night. Dumb!!! Anyway, I’m going to make lunch for my guys (uh, yeah, it’s 1:20, so I’m a little late, they’ve stopped complaining!) and then clean the sink. It’s Day One for me, Baby!!! 🙂

  2. mama k permalink
    May 27, 2007 3:23 am

    Found you via Rachel. I gotta get back on the Fly-program too.

  3. Domestic Goddess permalink
    May 27, 2007 5:12 pm

    Way to go!
    Get those negative thoughts out of your head. You deserve and hour lunch break! Who said you had to spend every waking moment cleaning? If you worked full time outside the home, I know you still wouldn’t. You are doing an AWESOME job as mom, they are only little for so long!

Leave a Reply

