Skip to content

Day 6 – Fire! Fire! Fire!

May 28, 2007

Oh my goodness call the fire department! Today’s baby step is putting out my hot spots. Hot spots are areas of clutter that when left unattended will take over. I’ve got one sitting right in front of me. Toss in the one by the door, the one in the dining room, the one in the kitchen, the one in my bedroom, the one in the nursery, and the one in the upstairs hallway you’ve got yourself a blaze that’s going to take over the house.

So, today, I took my flylady prescribed timer, set it for two minutes, and put out the fire by my front door. You know the place. It’s the one with a mountain of junk mail, random baby shoes, a spare key I keep forgetting to give my parents, a few items to take out to the car, a few items that came in from the car, a payment to be mailed… I should have taken a before pic but my DH has the camera (and one of the babies) at his parents today. It looks good. I must become a better firefighter and keep on top of all these hot spots.

I took the weekend off but jumped back into action today. This is a huge step because I jumped back into action even though DH was home. When I woke up I still got dressed to shoes and did my morning routine, my load of laundry and emptied the dishwasher. I really hope I can keep this up and maybe even stay on track over next weekend. Because DH is going to be home a lot this summer and if I treat those days like I do weekends then the Health Department is going to be knocking on my door by September.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Rachel permalink
    May 29, 2007 1:59 am

    DH has off for the summers too, and I often end up not doing well with my routines. That’s one of the reasons I’m making such an effort now. Good for you for putting out those hot spots!

  2. Marie Green permalink
    May 29, 2007 3:12 pm

    Here’s how we survive:
    On Saturday morning we both clean the house- vacuum, swiffer, clean bathrooms, dust- as much as we can get done in about 2-3 hours. The rest of the week we have 1 rule: all the dishes have to be done and the toys picked up before going to bed each night. I do little stuff the rest of the week, but the majority of the cleaning can usually wait until the next Sat. Maybe I’ll have to check out flylady and see how I’m measuring up! =)

  3. Cel permalink
    May 31, 2007 4:26 pm

    I love you titles! They make me read them (the goal, right?)

    Hey! Tell “Marie Green” about FLYlady!!!! She needs to stop that weekend cleaning!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

