Skip to content

Happy Memorial Day

May 28, 2007

We had a really nice weekend. Saturday we…why can’t I remember what we did Saturday? Well, Sunday we went down the shore. My Uncle lives down there and we hadn’t seen him since January. My cousin and her family are down there too and it’s been even longer since we saw them.

I love the beach. My parents used to have a summer home in Ocean City and I sometimes think that those summers ruined me for life without an ocean breeze. After 2 hours in the car, the girls were pretty restless so the very first thing we did was go to the beach. (Literally, we paid the bridge toll to get onto the island and me a left into the beach parking lot.) A. liked it a lot. R. was less adventurous and protested rather loudly to walking on the soft sand or putting her feet in the water. But, A. is a girl after my own heart. She toddled up and down the beach picking up shells, pointing at the waves, and just smiling at everything.

The only problem was the car ride home. For some reason, just lately, A. does not like the car. Especially long trips. The first time it happened she was screaming so badly we thought she was in pain. (Pulling over in the pouring rain to check for sharp needles or hot coals was just tons of fun, let me tell ya.) Now that it’s happened 4-5 times we’re a little perplexed. We switched to forward facing recently and we’re thinking maybe she doesn’t like it. It was so bad last night that we decided it would be better for DH and R. to go up to his parents’ house as scheduled today but I would stay home with A. Much more peaceful and less stressful for all involved.

Previously, we would always time our trips home for 7pm, the girls’ normal bedtime. They would sleep in the car the whole ride home and drift easily back to sleep once they were in their cribs. I’m hoping that switching A. back to rear-facing does the trick. I’m not sure what I would do if we always had to be home by 7pm and couldn’t take drives longer than an hour.

I had been looking forward to taking day trips to the beach with the babies. Now, I’m thinking that I should start exploring local options.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Marie Green permalink
    May 29, 2007 3:04 pm

    My girls used to hate the car too. Also, they would get car sick, randomly, so we were always surprised by it. Before I had kids I would’ve sworn I wouldn’t do this, but have you tried letting them watch DVD’s in the car? We use our laptop, balanced on the arms of the front seats, and AHHH peace in the car! Just an idea…

  2. Mommy Brain permalink
    May 29, 2007 4:06 pm

    Yeah, we’ve decided that we’re going to get a DVD player for the car. I never thought of using my laptop. I’ll have to see if it works.

Leave a Reply

