Skip to content

30 before 30

May 30, 2007

Today is my old college roommate’s 30th birthday. My DH is 5.5 years older than me and his friends are my friends so I’ve celebrated many 30th birthdays already. Toss in work friends and mom friends and I’ve been to quite a few. But D. is the first of my college friends to turn thirty.

It made me realize that I will be 30 in less than 3 years. What do I want to accomplish before I turn thirty? Who do I want to be? Emotionally? Spiritually? Physically? So, in honor of D. I give you my 30 before 30 – in no particular order. (Thanks to Katie who gave me the idea in the first place.)

  1. Take a cake decorating class. (completed Dec 2007)
  2. Learn how to knit.
  3. Learn German. My dad was born in Germany and my stepmom has been studying the language for the past 4 years. I’d like to get to the point where I can hold a basic conversation with them.
  4. Enroll in Graduate school.
  5. Figure out what I want to study in graduate school. (I guess 5 should be before 4.)
  6. Take the GRE’s. (Okay, 6 should be before 4 too. I meant what I said with “in no particular order.”)
  7. Visit Maine for real. This would finish my tour of the east coast. I drove into Maine long enough to take a picture with the welcome to Maine sign so technically I have been to every state on the East coast. But it would be nice to truly have been to Maine.
  8. Walk the Breast Cancer 3-Day. I was supposed to do this in 2005 but my doctor wouldn’t let me because I was pregnant. My mother’s family has the breast cancer gene so this cause is really important to me.
  9. Unpack completely. Yes, we moved in 2006 when I was 26. No, we’re still not unpacked. Yes, I really hope that it won’t take 4 years.
  10. Finally meet The Domestic Goddess, Trace, and Lucy T.
  11. Read the (last name) family history that my Uncle has. It’s my mom’s family and we got it at a reunion when I was about 12 years old so I never actually read it.
  12. Read the Bible cover to cover.
  13. Re-connect with one “lost” friend. (Completed Fall 2008 – wow, facebook…!!!)
  14. Watch the top ten movies on the AFI’s 100 Greatest American Movies of all time list. I had it drilled into me long ago that goals should be SMART goals (specific, measureable, attainable, realistic, timely) so I know better than to try for the whole 100.
  15. Read the top 25 Top Board Picks for Novels and Nonfiction Books as determined by the Radcliffe Publishing Company. I choose Radcliffe’s list purely because there are more books in their top 25 that I’m interested in reading. I guess this is cheating a little because the point of this goal is to expand my literary horizons.
  16. Have someone babysit overnight so DH and I can have a weekend away. Ideally this will happen long before I am thirty. But it’s so hard to find someone. Either they want to double their price because it’s twins or they believe you when you tell them “they’re not twins, they were born a minute apart.” (In which case they probably shouldn’t be trusted with two lives…or operate heavy machinery.)
  17. Finish one cross stitch just for me. I’ve been doing needlework since I was 8 but I always seem to do these things as gifts. It be nice to finally make a wedding sampler, birth announcement, or Christmas decoration that’s displayed in my own home.
  18. Obtain a sewing machine and learn to use it.
  19. Take a Do-It-Herself or similiar workshop at Home Depot.
  20. Learn how to change a flat tire. I feel like I have no business being on the road unless I know how to do this. I’ve had my license for 2002 and my first car (well, minivan) since 2006 so there’s no excuse.
  21. Go lettterboxing.
  22. Earn a 100 hours of community service certificate. I’m in a service sorority and nationals gives awards to alums who complete more than 100 hours over two years. Really, that’s about an hour a week for two years. Surely I can find an hour a week to help others.
  23. Read one book about Korea. I have books. My family made sure I had books on Korea. In fact, my DH has even read one. I never bothered but now that I have kids who are Korean (well, 50% Korean) I feel like I should know more about my own heritage.
  24. Beat my husband at Scrabble. Just once. I haven’t won a single game against him. Ever.
  25. Finally get all of my credit cards, passport, and other important documents to say my married name. It’s been three years. So far just my Driver’s License and Library card carry my married name.
  26. Go rockclimbing. I have a fear of heights so this might take some effort.
  27. Take a class on wine.
  28. I’m trying to think of a goal that will help me be a better parent that is S.M.A.R.T. Any ideas? Hmm, maybe finish reading “Scream Free Parenting” by Hal Runkel?
  29. Insert the goal that has to do with my own spirituality but I can’t figure out exactly what it is yet. Will update soon.
  30. Laugh every day. Hugs my kids often. Kiss my DH daily.

There are so many things I want from life but are beyond my control. I’ve tried to make this list as realistic as possible while still trying to push me to the limits of who I can become. Then I tossed in a few fun things just because I can. I’m looking forward to checking these off.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Marie Green permalink
    May 30, 2007 2:17 pm

    awesome, now I’m inspired to make a list of goals! Thanks!

  2. Mama's Moon permalink
    May 30, 2007 6:19 pm

    Great list! Unfortunately, once you hit thirty and climb past it the list grows longer. Mine seems to have lengthened exponentially with every year!!!

    Go get that list done, Girl!

  3. Cel permalink
    May 31, 2007 4:23 pm

    I love your list! As for #21, you should try geocaching! Several of us love it. It’s something DH and I love doing together.

  4. Trace permalink
    June 1, 2007 2:54 pm

    We can meet whenever…Domestic Goddess & Lucy T. will crack you up whereas I tend to be shy.

    Turning 30 was really hard for me and I felt the same way. It made me evaluate my life and look at everything that I hadn’t accomplished. It was kind of depressing for me.

    BTW, I set up a book club blog. I figured I would give everyone permission to be an author so that everyone would be able to post comments about the book, list your book when it’s your turn, or whatever. So if you want to be in it send me your email address. I know you posted recently to FL, but I deleted.

  5. Lucy T permalink
    June 3, 2007 12:39 am

    Meet Moi! I am so honored! We almost met. I was outside your house to get the phone!
    If you change 21 from letterboxing to geocaching, we can kill two goals at once!
    Isn’t your birthday in December or thereabouts? Mine is. My last birthday put me three years from 50. Chuckle. Am I really 20 years older than you? Gosh I feel old or you seem young. Either way, better get some of those goals met because time flies!!!!

Trackbacks

  1. Welcome to the Party! « Too Stupid to Say No Club

Leave a Reply

