Skip to content

Random Reflections

June 5, 2007

1. Why does a full size, sturdy umbrella stroller cost just $1.00 more than the flimsy, doll size stroller? Why was I forced to purchase a second over-priced doll stroller? Well, this one’s easy. I couldn’t take the screeching. Seriously, they both better become opera stars, make tons of money and buy their mommy a state of the art hearing aid which I’m surely going to need after dealing with these lungs.

2. I watched another parenting ideal go bye-bye this weekend. We were facing 5 hours in the car on Saturday and we broke down and bought a portable DVD player for the car. When I was a kid (I can’t believe I just used that phrase, I sound just like my dad) I never got to watch TV. (Which is also why I do really bad on any 80s pop culture stuff in Trivial Pursuit.) My parents still don’t have cable. We even spent our summers down the shore where there wasn’t a TV in the house. We took the 2 hour trip down there constantly and us kids were able to handle the car ride without assistance. So why do I need one to keep my kids quiet in the car? I tried to hold out as long as possible on the trip this weekend but the crying, oh the crying. The two bags of toys/books/stuffed animals were not enough. I gave up and my two little angels stared at the idiot box quite contentedly for the rest of the trip. Oh well, I guess 3-4 hours of TV isn’t going to kill them. Hooray for Baby Einstein. Julie Ainger-Clark is my new favorite person.

3. Why is it that no matter how many times you circle the block that the parking space right in front of where you’re going only opens up after you’ve parked 5 blocks away in the rain? I miss having the ability to use public transportation. Hopefully in a year or two I will be able to manage two toddlers on the train by myself. I ventured into Center City Philly yesterday to drop off something and to visit my old law firm. (On a side note, I’ve noticed that I no longer get invited places, it’s always “when are the girls coming to visit?”) I hate parking down there. I can count on one hand the number of times I’ve driven into the city. Never again. I would rather park 2 miles away and walk then deal with the traffic, the bad drivers, and the parking situation.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Marie Green permalink
    June 5, 2007 10:38 pm

    Word to the dvd in the car. Look at it this way, when we were kids we didn’t have to be strapped into straight jackets (read:car seats). True, we didn’t have movies in the car, but we laid on the seat, behind the seat, on the floor with our feet on the seat, or heck, even in the front seat. It’s totally different when they can’t move a single millimeter!

  2. Marie Green permalink
    June 6, 2007 3:16 am

    Also, thanks so much for your comments on my blog!

  3. Domestic Goddess permalink
    June 6, 2007 12:58 pm

    DVDs saved my life on 16 and 12 hour car trips. When we were kids we were miserably shoved into a van with seven other kids plus all of our stuff, it was cramped, tight and hot (no AC) all the way to florida. Ugh. We were cranky the whole trip after that. I remember the screaming and crying and my mom saying she was going to walk straight to Bermuda and never come back.
    My kids arrive happy, calm and peaceful. We bring snacks and games and turn on the DVD when nothing else works. I see nothing wrong with it, because that means we all arrive in a better mood and well-rested and happy.

Leave a Reply

