Skip to content

Day 15: I made my bed!

June 14, 2007

I know I shouldn’t get this excited about making my bed. But I feel like a proud little 6 year old that is showing off her new skill. (Yes, I’m a total geek for getting this excited.) Just like flylady instructed, I hopped out of bed this morning and made the bed. So sad, that a smoothed out comforter and fluffed pillows can give me this gigantic feeling of accomplishment. Even better, I’ve been doing good at keeping my sink shiny, I’m on top of my before bed routine and I’m dressed to shoes every morning.

I do have a funny making the bed story though. I usually get the babies out of their cribs and let them run around the upstairs hallway while I get dressed/do my morning routine. I had left my bedroom door open this morning so I could dash back in and make the bed. Poor A. pointed at the open door and said “Da-da!” with a huge smile. She toddled over to the door, looked inside, and….no Da-da. She looked all around and gave a pathetic “da-da?” I felt so bad for her.

Usually, on mornings that DH is home and it’s not his turn to sleep in, I leave the door open so the girls can give him a good morning hug. A. was looking for her hug. Naturally, this meant that I rearranged my plans for the day so that we could go visit Da-da at lunch. A. was very pleased.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Mommy Daisy permalink
    June 14, 2007 6:15 pm

    It sounds like you’re doing great on the routines. I, too, do the FlyLady system. I’m not all the way there, but mostly I do certain ones all the time. Making your bed was one of the first ones I did, because it was the monthly challenge when I joined in March or April. Anyway, it makes my day to have my bed made, and it helps me relax better at night.

    You are a sweet mom for taking the girls to see their daddy because they missed him. I actually took my Zachariah to see his daddy at work today too. He had to go in for shots, and my husband works right beside there. He was thrilled to go in Daddy’s office. AND, Daddy’s boss has a fish tank. He kept running back there when we were trying to leave. I finally asked him to say bye-bye to the fish, and he was ok with that.

  2. Lynne permalink
    June 14, 2007 6:24 pm

    Daddy at our house travels or works from home. The kids are really confused when he’s home for a long stretch or gone for a long stretch. Homecomings are fun for him though.

    You asked about swim lessons…You pay for a 4-6 week period 5 days per week. They go until they can do the skills dressed and with shoes (FlyLady would love this, huh?)

    Our instructor has been pretty flexible with people needing to be gone. We’ve only missed a few days due to her being gone. It seems like a big commitment, but we leave the house at 10 am and return a little after noon. That’s all 4 kids doing lessons and it’s a 30 minute drive.

  3. Cel permalink
    June 14, 2007 10:30 pm

    WOW! You are doing GREAT! I’m proud of you and I KNOW Flylady would be too! šŸ™‚ I know, I smile every morning after making my bed. I’ve been doing it for about 4 yrs EVERY DAY! I love it.

  4. Mama's Moon permalink
    June 19, 2007 4:59 am

    The more I read about your ‘Flylady System’ the more intrigued I’ve become. I just may have to get into it myself since lately making the bed and getting dressed presentably for the day has become more and more of a challenge.

    I love how you rearranged your day to visit DH at lunch for A. You’re a great mommy!

Leave a Reply

