Skip to content

Day 16 plus my Day 17 Struggle

June 21, 2007

So, I did fine with Day 16 of the Flylady’s beginning baby steps. Day 16 is just “read an email from Flylady.” My problem is with Day 17: Set a specific bedtime and stick with it.

I am a night owl. My ideal situation would be waking up a 10 or 11am and going to bed at 3 am. The past few nights I’ve been really productive – but 4am is probably not a valid bed time. (Hey, the third bedroom is starting to look good and the website I’m designing is coming along nicely…) And 4am is even worse when the babies wake up at 8am. (Thankfully, DH is off this week.)

That sensible part of my brain knows that my household runs better if I wake up at 7am and go to bed at 11pm. When I wake up at 7am, I have time to make the bed. I eat real meals at normal times. (Although food just tastes better at midnight.) I have plenty of time to get out of the house.

So tonight I will be in bed by 10:30pm and lights out at 11pm. I’ll even set my alarm clock.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. mama k permalink
    June 22, 2007 6:39 pm

    oh my. I feel ya on this one. I alway struggle with “not getting distracted by the computer” thus staying up waay too late.

    Good luck!

  2. Mommy Daisy permalink
    June 23, 2007 12:38 am

    I usually go to bed at least by 11:30 and normally before, but I don’t have a really set bedtime. This is a hard one for me too. I think you’re doing great on FlyLady’s baby steps. I did not continue this far with them.

  3. Lynne permalink
    June 23, 2007 2:21 am

    Oh, the night owl club. I’m a charter member. I have to make myself go to bed before midnight or I can be up easily until 3 am too.

    Our kids usually get up between 7 and 8 depending on how tired they are and who wakes up first.

Leave a Reply

