Skip to content

How long does it take to dig a hole?

June 26, 2007

This weekend my husband and our good friend E. put up a chain link fence in our back yard. I had my doubts about this whole do-it-yourself thing. Here’s how it went:

10AM – This was the time they agreed to meet to start work.

10:15AM – E. arrived and DH finally got his shoes on.

10:20 AM – Determined that they need more concrete so it’s off to the hardware store.

10:55 AM – All necessary bags of concrete are in the back yard. Shovels and other supplies are set up.

11:30 AM – I left to take the babies to the park. They appear to have ropes up to determine straight lines and are doing some sort of measurements.

1:00 PM – Back from the park. Progress? Two and a half holes. And a giant two-man auger is sitting in the unfenced yard. Evidently we have a really rocky back yard.

2:30PM – They break for lunch having dug 6 holes in 6 hours. That’s an average of 1 hole (2 feet deet and 9 inches wide) per hour. With the help of power tools. Factor in the two of them and they averaged 1 hole per person per 120 minutes.

4:00PM – It’s time to leave for my parents house for dinner. I’ve already determined that there is no way that DH will be joining us. Still, it’s looking like a fence. There are poles in the ground and everything.

7:30PM – Back from my parents. Take a look in the backyard. Oh-My-GOODNESS. They are still back there working.

9:00PM – The dinner I picked up for them is growing cold. But I finally hear them closing up the garage. Less than 11 hours after they started – we have a fenced in back yard.

Did I mention that the “yard” they were fencing in is EIGHTEEN FEET by NINE FEET??

Still, the girls played back there today and really enjoyed it. And it did save a lot of money. But we are DEFINATELY hiring someone to install the new garage door.
5 Comments leave one →
  1. Marie Green permalink
    June 27, 2007 3:13 am

    Too funny. Love. it.

    We are do-it-yourself-ers too, but damn, it can be a pain. Other times it goes so smoothly.

    We need a fence too. Now you’ve got me motivated…

  2. Mama's Moon permalink
    June 27, 2007 5:10 am

    Yay! I’ve gone through watching Hubby perform a do-it-yourselfer a number of times. I’ve learned to just pack up the kids and plan to be somewhere for about twelve hours so as not to watch in anxiety over how long the process takes. That way I come back to a newly installed whatever without having had to watch the step-by-steps.

    It looks good, BTW!

  3. Domestic Goddess permalink
    June 27, 2007 2:07 pm

    Sounds like a project at my house. I swear I could leave for days and it will be exactly as I left it. for some reason if I stand there and stare at him he works faster…

  4. Trace permalink
    June 27, 2007 3:49 pm

    You guys are very brave to attempt that, but since a fence is very expensive, good job!

  5. nowheymama permalink
    June 27, 2007 5:59 pm

    What a great post!

Leave a Reply

