Skip to content

Dangerously Obsessed

June 27, 2007

I’m obsessed. OBSESSED.

It’s sick.

It keeps me up at night.

It pulls at me.

I sneak downstairs after everyone’s asleep to do it.

I can’t wait until naptime so I can get back to it.

I’m writing this quickly so I can do more of it.

Even when I’m out shopping at my favorite store, I’m thinking about it.

Sure, it’s probably a good thing. I’ve needed to do it for a while. It’s not like it’s going to hurt anything. And it’s a way to beat the heat.

What am I obsessed with??? Cleaning my basement.

Seriously, I may need to seek professional help. But it’s so nice and cool down there and I’m making such great progress. Still, there’s something a little bit twisted about how obsessed I am with cleaning, unpacking, and decluttering my basement. The good news is that I’ve gotten rid of (trashed, freecycled, or donated) about 4 big bags of stuff. I’ve also found a bunch of stuff to sell.

And who says that decluttering doesn’t pay? I found $30 in an old file folder. Well, back to my new favorite hobby!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Swistle permalink
    June 27, 2007 10:03 pm

    Ooooh, when I first found FlyLady a few years ago, I tackled the basement. I still remember how I used to run back down there whenever I could! The part that thrilled me was Making Space On A Shelf: we had more crap than shelf space, so every time I got rid of something that was on a shelf, I had room to move something up there. Addictive.

  2. Anjali permalink
    June 28, 2007 1:36 am

    We did the basement from October until February of this year — we were moving, we had to. Keep up the good work — you can always get therapy when you’re finished…

  3. Domestic Goddess permalink
    July 2, 2007 7:18 pm

    WOOHOO!
    $30 is great! It is worth the obsession! you go girl, the more you fling the more you can organize!

Leave a Reply

