Skip to content

Empire Waists, Postpartum Bellies, and Babies R Us don’t mix

June 29, 2007

The other night I had to head to Babies R Us. Quite a few of my friends have welcomed new ones into the families and I have been embarrassingly late in sending them congrats cards.

It was hot so I was wearing a sundress. I was tired from lifting some boxes in the basement and my lower back was a little sore. Still, I can’t resist perusing the different gadgets and toys. So I wandered around looking at the different displays. Picked out a few things for my own babies since we still have left over gift cards. I noticed a visibly pregnant woman trying to decide between shampoo types. I sent her that aaawww type of smile that’s reserved for pregnant women and newborns.

And then it happened.

I ended up on the receiving end of one of those aaawww smiles.

Sure, the Empire waist on my sundress might not have been a good choice – but it’s 90 degrees out people! I just want to stay cool. And yes, I might have been rubbing my back a little regretting carrying that box of books up two flights of stairs. But the kicker was this encounter with a completely different person:

Random stranger: Are you registered here? Which high chair did you pick?
Me: Umm, I was registered here and my twins still use xyz chair.
Random stranger: Wow, twins, that’s great – lots of hand me downs.

I just smiled and walked away. Hopefully, I was reading too far into her last remark but either way that dress went to goodwill the very next day.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Domestic Goddess permalink
    July 2, 2007 7:19 pm

    Egads! I might have corrected her, I am rude like that! ACK!

  2. Lynne permalink
    July 8, 2007 1:02 am

    Oh geez! I got that same thing a few months after the triplets were born. I did the same thing.

Leave a Reply

