Skip to content

8th of July

July 9, 2007

It’s eight days into July already and I’m just now finding time to post. Here’s some highlights of the past week or so:

-We tried going to a lake to see if the kids would enjoy the water more when there weren’t waves. Four hours of driving (round-trip), $16 admission, and two screaming babies later we learned that no, they still don’t like the water. I love the water. I love to swim. My greatest wish as a child was to become a mermaid. How are these two little water-haters my children? I would swear they were switched a birth but the odds of another set of Asian identical twins being born at the hospital at the same time is pretty slim. Thankfully the lake also had a nice beach and a playground. Fun was still had by all.

-The good news with the “water-hating” is that I can skip the swim diapers for the beach. We hit the beach on Tuesday and the girls had a blast digging in the sand. The absolute best part of taking a trip to the shore on the day before the 4th of July is that there is NO traffic coming home. And when the 4th is a Wednesday and you head down on Tuesday there is NO traffic going there either. We have relatives that live at the shore year round and I usually hate visiting them between Memorial day and Labor Day because of the traffic and the crowds. This was the best “in season” trip we’ve had in years.

-Wednesday kicked off my DH’s birthday festival. Since his B-day is the 6th he feels that the fireworks are for him. We had a low key BBQ here and skipped the fireworks due to the rain.

-A good friend was in town for a wedding and I got to meet her 7 week old daughter. Of course, this involved driving into the city, finding parking, unloading the kids, visiting for 20 minutes and getting home before the babysitter arrived. (I had lined up a baby sitter so my DH and I could go to a “real” restaurant to celebrate his b-day.) Still, it was completely worth it since she now lives two time zones away.

IKEA does an $0.99 breakfast that includes eggs, potatoes, and bacon/sausage. It was enough food to feed me and both kids. For less than a dollar. Yum!

-Friday, Saturday, and Sunday were all birthday related. Friday was the actual birthday where DH and I went to lunch. Saturday we had his family over and Sunday we went to my parents and celebrated. See what I meant about a “festival”!!!!

-I have sold my body to science. A friend of mine started doing skin studies for extra money and I signed up last week. In exchange for wearing a patch of some skin product on my back for a few weeks I’m earning enough to go to one of those meal prep places and get 12 dinners. A group of us are going in a few weeks and I’m looking forward to it.

-I stumbled with Flylady with the holiday but plan to jump back into things tomorrow. I guess I better start by going to bed on time!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Rachel permalink
    July 9, 2007 3:15 pm

    Wow! How much does that skin study pay?!!

  2. Domestic Goddess permalink
    July 11, 2007 2:05 am

    Believe it or not, IKEA is one of our favorite family eating places. Sounds sad, but it is sooo much fun!

Leave a Reply

