Skip to content

Meme Monday

July 17, 2007

Mommy Daisy tagged me for the 7 random things meme that’s been going around. Then Marie Green tagged me for a similar meme and I think Perky did too. My brain isn’t working well enough to come up with one coherent post so this is perfect.

Here are the rules: Each player starts with 7 random facts/habits about themselves. People who are tagged need to write on their own blog about their seven things, as well as these rules. You need to choose 7 people to get tagged and list their names. Don’t forget to leave them a comment telling them that they have been tagged and to read your blog!

1. My children were both strapped into their car seats in our living room while I read to them and let them watch the last half hour of Sesame Street. I brought the car seats in to adjust the straps and clean them off. For some reason the little monsters (who hate their car seats worse than the pediatrician and the ocean combined) think sitting in them in the living room is the neatest thing in the world.

2. I’m becoming obsessed with cleaning. The other day was my “day off” (DH took the girls to his parents for the day). Did I go get my nails done or do some retail therapy? Nope. I cleaned out the nursery (the one chore that never gets done because if the babies are awake I’m not cleaning and if they’re asleep they’re in their nursery). It made me feel better than a manicure would have. Which is just sick.

3. I can recite Goodnight Moon from memory. It comes in handy when we’re in the car at bedtime.

4. I can also recite the Greek Alphabet. This is not useful at all.

5. I cannot stand the heat. I sweat. It’s gross. My body thinks I should be living at the beach. So it rebels in this hot city heat. The biggest problem with this is that the kids get really restless if they don’t get out of the house for at least an hour in the morning. We’re running out of low cost/free air-conditioned places they can run around. And there’s only so many trips to IKEA you can make in a month.

6. The house where I grew up had a blue living room, yellow kitchen, and a green dining room. Ever since them I’ve always thought those are the best colors for their respective rooms. It’s entirely possible that we purchased this home because the dining room is green.

7. We’ve been grilling so much lately that it took a mere 6 weeks to use up one propane tank. (My DH loves to grill and if he’s grilling then I’m not cooking. Win-win situation.)

Okay, I’m supposed to tag people but I think most people have been tagged already. So instead, I will point you to other people who have already done this one:
Trace
Perky
Domestic Goddess
Chaotic Mom

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Swistle permalink
    July 17, 2007 4:21 pm

    I love that you might have bought your house because of the green dining room. Paul had to steer me out of a house I wanted to buy because of the gorgeous vintage wallpaper (with, as Paul pointed out, scary water stains along the top edges, and one fewer bedrooms than our minimum, and a pre-civilization kitchen).

    My childhood homes were always painted cream throughout, except for the kids’ bedrooms (PINK! for mine, and BLUE! or GREEN! for my brother’s), and I nearly have an anxiety attack trying to choose other colors.

  2. Trace permalink
    July 17, 2007 4:30 pm

    Thanks, Mommy Brain. I forgot that I done that.

    I haven’t heard anything on the book front. I’ll be more aggressive about it.

Leave a Reply

