Skip to content

Toddler Clothing Sizes

August 31, 2007

My girls are 20 months old.

They are wearing onesies that are:

  • 6-9 months
  • 12 months
  • 18 months
  • 24 months

Their shorts are:

  • 12 months
  • 18 months
  • 24 months
  • 2T

Their shirts are:

  • 18 months
  • 24 months

This raises the following questions:

  • What size clothing am I buying for the fall?
  • Is there an actual difference between 2T and 24months? Because when I looked at the clothing in Target they were the exact same size. The only difference I could find was on the tags. On one shirt it said “24 m” and on the other shirt it said “2T.”
  • Does this mean that most kids go from 24months right to 3T?
  • And how can 6-9months AND 2T fit on the same kid? Can we have a little standardization here?
  • Is this just a conspiracy to make moms a little crazier than they already appear?

There are some really nice clearance buys on summer clothing right now. I went ahead and bought a bunch of 3T shorts and shirts because I’m assuming it will be big enough to fit them in 1 or 2 years. (And if it isn’t then at $1 an article of clothing I’m sure I can get most of my money back on eBay or at my MOMs Club Exchange sale.) But, it didn’t help me figure out what to buy for the fall. Although, I’m beginning to think my little shrimps will still fit in their clothes from this Spring.

I’m just getting crazier by the minute….

—–

UPDATE: A friend of mine shed a little light on this mystery. She tells me that 2T clothing is less roomy around the waist with the idea that the child is wearing 2T without diapers but 24 months with diapers. We both agreed this was ridiculous seeing as we can count on one hand the number of kids who were potty trained at 2 years.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Mommy Daisy permalink
    September 1, 2007 12:43 am

    I have this same frustration with baby clothes. My son is skinny and tall, and that doesn’t help. He can wear 12 and 18 month shirts, most 12 and 18 month shorts (although some 18 months still slide down on him), a few 18 month onesies but mostly 24 month onesies (for height), 18 month pants fit just right now. I’m ok with buying shirts, I’ve gotten a few 18m and a few 24m. I figure he’ll still be wearing those all winter. My issue right now is what size pants to buy for the fall. The few pairs of pants I’ve put on him fit just right, and I know he’ll need 24 month sizes soon. But they are too big in the waist. Ahh!

    I don’t know about the 24 month vs. 2T. Places I shop put them in 2 different categories, so I’ve only been buying 24 month stuff for now. Let me know if you figure that out. I’ve skipped out on buying for next summer, because I have NO idea what size to get.

  2. Swistle permalink
    September 3, 2007 8:58 pm

    I’ve heard the “diapers” reason, but there’s also another explanation, I think. Even though they’re often in the same area, baby clothing lines change over at size two: there are the “baby” sizes of 3m, 6m, 12m, 18m, 24m, and there are the “toddler” sizes of 2T, 3T, 4T, and 5T. I don’t think the difference between 24m and 2T is so much a SIZING issue as a MANUFACTURING issue: some companies make totally different clothes in their infant sizes than in their toddler sizes (others make the same clothes in both sizes, but keep to the 24m/2T for stores that separate the baby sizes from the toddler sizes).

  3. Marie Green permalink
    September 3, 2007 11:42 pm

    Well, here’s what I know.
    1) Usually 24 mo shirts have snaps like a onsie but the 2T will be a regular shirt w/o snaps.
    2)I’ve heard the 24 mo are roomier that 2T but I don’t think I’ve found that to be true.
    3)My kids can wear a variety of sizes too- all three of them. Really, if you hold the clothes up to each other and compare, there’s really not much size difference between sizes. A size 2T and a size 3T are nearly identical- but the 3T pants will be an inch or two longer than the 2T.
    4)I would by the biggest size that fits them. They can wear things a bit roomy for awhile (better than outgrowing things before the season is over). I’ve found when I by a size bigger, I often get 2 season out of them. The exception to this rule for us is jeans/pants. If they are just a bit too long, then I’ll roll them. But lots of rolls looks dorky, and tripping over pant legs is just not ok.

    Good luck!

  4. Marie Green permalink
    September 3, 2007 11:45 pm

    Oh, one more thing we do- I buy some long sleeve onsies/Tshirts (my kids wore onsies until they were potty trained- I didn’t want their tummies to be cold!) to wear under any short sleeve shirts in the winter. Most summer shirts are cute with a long sleeve shirt underneath. Kind of that Garage Band Gone Preppy look. =)

Leave a Reply

