Skip to content

E-L-M-O!!!!

September 3, 2007
We went on a major shopping expedition today involving two malls, one stand alone store, and a get-out-and-run-around stop at a park. We being just little ‘ole me with the two kids. What was I thinking? Let me tell you, that furry red monster is everywhere. I know because my babies feel the need to shout “EL-MO!” at the top of their lungs every time they spot him. It’s my new game when we’re out. R. shouts “Elmo!” and I spot him in a store display. A. shouts “Elmo” and I finally notice him on the shoes of the kid next to us in line. They both scream “Elmo!” and I apologize to the little old lady who jumped a mile…then find him staring at us from the cover of a book. And usually just one shout isn’t enough. A really good sighting requires at least 3 good screams a piece.

In other news, my little girls are branching out into more of Sesame Street. We even had a few “Ehr-nee” and “Bet” sightings today. In a moment of insanity I purchased a set of 26 Sesame Street books (one for each letter of the alphabet.) They can’t pick out the letter B but they do know who Zoe, Telly, Bert, Ernie, and Oscar are. Surely the real message will sink in… A, B, C, D…

My other Sesame related news bite is that I’m learning how to DRAW these characters. I got them giant Magna-Doodles as a mess-free, at-babies’-convenience alternative to paper/markers. (Yes, Mr. Child Welfare Department, we still color but even with washable crayons it’s a once a week activity instead of a once a day kind of mess.) The babies ask me or DH to draw something then they scribble over it. It started with me learning to draw monkeys and rabbits but quickly evolved into requests for Elmo, Bert, and Ernie. For a good laugh I’ve included a typical Elmo drawing of mine with deepest apologies to Jim Henson:

I’m just spiraling deeper and deeper into the realm of insanity.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Rachel permalink
    September 3, 2007 12:07 pm

    Ahhh, yes, I remember it well….

    I learned how to do a really good Ernie and Bert!

  2. Mommy Daisy permalink
    September 3, 2007 5:14 pm

    Oh, that’s great! I especially love the scaring the old lady part. HA!

    My son is obssessed with trains, cars, trucks, tractors, etc. And dogs. He always points and makes the appropriate sound effect. We don’t watch much TV, so I don’t think Zachariah even knows who Elmo is yet.

  3. Marie Green permalink
    September 3, 2007 11:47 pm

    Nice Elmo- I got really good at drawing Dora on our MagnaDoodle.

  4. Mama's Moon permalink
    September 4, 2007 5:59 pm

    Hehehe! Welcome to the depths of insanity…so glad you could make it! That drawing’s pretty snazzy, there. I’m sure you did Mr. Henson proud! Have a wonderfully Elmo-ey day!

Leave a Reply

