Skip to content

I Found the Lost Ziti!

September 6, 2007

Finicky and Picky (aka my daughters) had baked ziti for dinner last night. I put a portion in each of their little plastic bowls and sat them down at the table. DH and I take turns watching them eat while I finish making our dinner. The kids weren’t eating that well and they left about half of their bowls. I was rushing to get out the door to meet up with some friends. While cleaning up, I noticed that only one bowl was on the table. The second bowl wasn’t on the floor. Checked the kitchen and no bowl with ziti in it. No empty bowls either. Asked DH and he didn’t touch it. Which means that somewhere in my dining room my little angels have hidden a bowl of ziti.

Unfortunately, I was starting to run late so I said I would look when I got home. Two hours later and DH hasn’t located the ziti in the kitchen. I tear apart the dining room searching in the toy box, inside the timeout “jail”, and everywhere else I can think of. I even look in the living room. No sign of the ziti. I’m starting to feel a little sick at the idea of finding a ziti science project in a few weeks or, worse, one of the babies finding it. I gave up and went to bed hoping that the girls would learn to talk overnight so they could tell me where it went.

This afternoon I was fixing lunch and popped some leftovers into the microwave. My plate hit a bowl. Yes, a bowl half filled with ziti.

You would think in all of that searching I would have remembered trying to make the ziti a little warmer for R. in an effort to get her to eat more of it. Oops. Good news is that I found the ziti. Bad news is that there is no apparent cure for mommy brain.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Marie Green permalink
    September 6, 2007 9:35 pm

    I sometimes find freezer items in the cupboard. So I’ve got it bad too!

  2. Mommy Daisy permalink
    September 7, 2007 1:17 am

    HA! I’ve had those moments. Glad you found it though. I was waiting for the horror story to follow.

  3. Domestic Goddess permalink
    September 7, 2007 12:48 pm

    I can totally identify with this one, unfortunately. I will rush through the mornign routine, nuke my tea or food twice, get them out the door, hop in the car to run errands and realize, at ten when my tummy is upset, that my breakfast was still sitting uneaten in the micro.

    We also lose food. Bugaboo is notorious for walking off with his breakfast. I LOVE finding it in the playroom!

  4. Rachel permalink
    September 9, 2007 3:04 am

    It’s the cups of milk that have been moved to odd places within the playroom that I don’t locate for a few days that kill me!

  5. Nowheymama permalink
    September 20, 2007 11:46 pm

    I’m currently on the lookout for a lost apple core that’s somewhere in the living room or dining room. Have you seen it?

Leave a Reply

