Skip to content

There’s No Place Like Home – NOT!

September 19, 2007

We stayed home this morning. For the first morning in a month we didn’t go anywhere. No trips to the grocery store, no running around the playground, no quick walks around the block. We just stayed home. Both girls have runny noses and coughs so it seemed like a good morning to just hang around the house.

What was I thinking? My house is now so messy that I’m expecting FEMA any minute. Not a single room in this house could be termed “neat” or “orderly.” (Okay, it’s possible that the 3rd bedroom and the basement were disasters before this morning but the rest of the house is definitely the girls’ fault.) As I walk from room to room assessing the damage I suddenly remember WHY we leave the house every morning.

Mistake 1: Letting them into my bedroom while I got dressed.
Mistake 2: Letting them eat Goldfish in the living room. Dropping fishies on the playground isn’t the same as the living room carpet.
Mistake 3: Not leaving the house this morning.
Mistake 4: Getting out of bed this morning.

Fear not. Instead of dwelling on my many mistakes, I’ll just sit here and debate the merits of cleaning up while they nap vs. how much damage they’ll do in the 3.5 hours between the end of naptime and bedtime. I’m also going to change my title from Stay-at-Home-Mom to Anywhere-BUT-Home-Mom.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mama's Moon permalink
    September 19, 2007 7:28 pm

    Ah, yes, the debate between staying home to avoid a mess vs. an hours worth of packing snacks, sippies, miscellaneous just to get out of the house deal. Isn’t it lovely? You’re damned if you do, and you’re damned if you don’t. Picking a poison is never any fun – especially multiplied by two!

    Hope their little colds go away soon!

  2. Mommy Daisy permalink
    September 19, 2007 7:41 pm

    Oh boy, I’e done this before. I tend to be more of a homebody though. I can handle the mess over fits and no naps if we’re away from home too long.

  3. carrie permalink
    September 20, 2007 2:15 am

    Oh my….are you sure you didn’t stay at OUR house today? I was seriously thinking about this the other day – I feel like I am always cleaning up. I guess that is why I hate the term “working” mom…we stay-at-home moms work all day, too. Maid. Cook. Constant source of entertainment. It is just that we do it over and over again since the kids are at our house all day long, too. Not that I’m complaining. (Well, maybe a little bit!)

Leave a Reply

