Skip to content

More Twin Differences

September 20, 2007

Here’s an interesting example of how my girls are different. Both are playing at the park. Both go into the little playhouse and close the door. Unsuspecting little boy (just 2 months younger than my girls) attempts to enter said playhouse. R. keeps him out with a stiff-arm to the face. Little boy cries and I drag R. off him with apologies to the boy’s mom. The poor boy makes a second attempt to enter the playhouse. A. takes one look at him and shrieks at the top of her lungs. Little boy bursts into tears again and I hustle both kids out of the playhouse area. So, when faced with someone intruding on “their” territory: R pushes the intruder away and A screams like…well…a girl.

I feel like R takes a stereotypical boy approach to situations and A acts more like a girl. Being adopted (and having a degree in Psych), I am always fascinated with the whole Nature vs. Nurture thing. What makes R my tougher baby and A my girlie girl? Why does A love to have ribbons and bows in her hair and can already say “pretty?” Why does R rip the bows out and can throw them clear across the room?

Yesterday, Mommy Daisy blogged about some new research studies including how “Having a male twin sibling reduces a woman’s fertility.” The researchers suggest that the exposure to testosterone in the womb affects the female twin. Testosterone is present in fetuses of both genders. Could R just have gotten more of it? Or, did we treat R differently because she was the bigger twin? A. was only 5lbs at birth and so tiny while R. was 6lbs and the first to hit most physically milestones (sitting up, rolling over, etc.). Is that why A’s our little princess? Why R’s my big tough girl? If I’d known I’d have twins someday I would have focused more on Developmental Psych and ditched all the Neuropsych classes. ‘Cause being able to describe the function of a neuron hasn’t been that useful lately. Go figure.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mommy Daisy permalink
    September 20, 2007 2:20 pm

    Oh, that is very interesting. I love hearing all these things from you. Sibling differences fascinate me. It’s even more interesting with twins and especially with identical twins. I guess for me it proves that God really does make us each an individual with our own feelings and personalities.

    That poor little boy. He didn’t even know what he had coming.

  2. Marie Green permalink
    September 20, 2007 9:05 pm

    In our house, the girls flip-flop roles. For awhile one is more outgoing and tough and the other more meek, then the next month or so they switch.

    My twins are definitely NOT opposites. They are different, and to us even look extremely different, but we don’t have a “quiet one” and a “loud one” or whatever.

    It will be interesting to see as they grow if they maintain these traits, or flip-flop like my girls do!

  3. carrie permalink
    September 20, 2007 10:44 pm

    THAT is fascinating. My husband is an identical twin and I love reading all the research and intricacies of twin-dom.

Leave a Reply

