Skip to content

Crib Recall Irony

September 21, 2007

I received an urgent phone call from my FIL just now. He was getting ready to leave work and noticed the article on the massive crib recall on MSNBC. (here) Rather than forward me the article via email, he promptly dropped what he was doing and called us.

The irony? The crib that my darling in laws INSIST that the babies use when we visit is 34 years old and violates at least 2 of the crib safety issues listed in pretty much every parenting book out there. Two years ago, when I expressed my concerns over putting the girls in a 34 year old crib I was dubbed a worry wart. My SIL laughed in my face. My MIL pointed out that all three of her children survived. Never mind that over 100 babies died in 1987 from unsafe cribs. Never mind that after new safety standards were put into place we’re down to just 16 deaths in 2005. So don’t worry about the 34 year old crib in your home that is illegal to sell in 12 states – but definitely call me in a panic that we might own one of the recalled cribs. Aaaarrggh.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Domestic Goddess permalink
    September 22, 2007 7:17 pm

    Oh yes, I know.
    Never mind the fact that all the old crap the MIL has given us from her kids is basically (toys included) covered in Lead paint, but when the Thomas Train recall came, and I told her I checked them, she INSISTED on checking herself. You know, because I’m gonna let them play with lead paint. Because apparently I think their delays aren’t serious enough…

    Oh, the crib thing has me in stitches.

  2. Mommy Daisy permalink
    September 24, 2007 1:52 pm

    Oh wow, now that is irony. Funny, though.

  3. Mama's Moon permalink
    September 24, 2007 6:08 pm

    Grrrr! Why is it that those who have parented before us (who feel they know it all, to boot) ahem, grandparents, aunties, etc. all feel the need to belittle our concerns as parents ourselves and think us ridiculous for not putting all of our faith in their (30+ year old) opinions??! That totally burns me. And then to send you into a panic. Makes me just wanna slap ’em with a big “I told you so!” all over their foreheads! Grrr!

Leave a Reply

