Skip to content

Flashback Friday – Life Changing Moments

September 28, 2007
A few weeks ago I was thinking this morning that it’s been almost exactly two years since one of my bigger life changing moments.

It all started when I was 18 weeks pregnant and we were having a pre-baby (notice the singular) vacation. We were 3 time zones and 3000 miles away in Southern California. It was 10pm and I made the mistake of checking my voicemail. It was the doctor’s office telling me to call immediately because my quad screen came back abnormal. Panic sets in. I can’t even remember what test they’re talking about. I’m on vacation so I can’t even go and google what the heck it is. It’s 1am on the east coast so I can’t call anyone and find out what this means. All we can do is wait until morning.

The next day we call and not so patiently wait for them to call back. I finally get someone on the phone and they tell me that my results came back showing that I had a 1 in 19 chance of the baby (still singular) being born with Down’s Syndrome and can I come in this afternoon for a consultation. Ummm, no. We’re not flying back for another five days. We ultimately schedule an appointment for the afternoon we get back.

We get back after what still was a really, really fun vacation. We met with a genetic counselor. I wasn’t about to risk harm to the baby and we wouldn’t do anything no matter what an amnio found. So it was pretty much just wait for the ultrasound and see if they found any markers for Down’s. Really, all that meeting taught me was that I shouldn’t have agreed to have the quad screen.

Two weeks later my 21 weeks along self and my DH arrived for the “big” ultrasound. We had just registered at Babies R Us that weekend to prepare for our little one. It was our first ultrasound and while I was nervous about the whole Down’s thing I was really excited to finally be able to see our baby. We had decided that we didn’t want to find out the gender because we wanted to be surprised. Boy were we ever.

Surprise! About 10 minutes in the tech says she has to go check something and leaves the room. She comes back, fiddles with the monitors some more and says three insane little words: You’re having twins.

Thank goodness I was already lying down. I couldn’t stop laughing. I asked them to check again. See, for the past 6 weeks people had been telling me I was really showing and was I sure it wasn’t twins. I laughed because another co-worker had just had twins and I was positive that’s what gave them the idea. After all, I had been measuring right where I was supposed to, the doc only ever found one heart beat, I even had on good authority that twins are less common in Asians. I wasn’t on fertility drugs and I was under 30. Yeah, well they showed me two little heads. Two. As in more than one. Two. As in twins. Surprise.

When I expressed my shock they explained that identical twins are kind of a 1 in 250 chance so it’s like winning the lottery. Some lottery.

One year after the surprise of a lifetime, we had two happy, healthy, almost 9 month old twin girls. Two years later we have really active, happy, healthy, almost 21 month old twin girls who are no longer as good about looking at the camera.

What a difference a year or two makes…

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Marie Green permalink
    September 29, 2007 10:13 pm

    AWWWW. They are adorable. We used to do that with the swing tooo- put them back to back.

    Our ultra sound story is similiar. We went in for a routine sonogram at 23 weeks, really excited to find out the gender, and instead we found out we were having 2 babies. We were shocked. My husband was WHITE. All color drained from his face…

    I’ll have to blog about it sometime. Thanks for the idea…

  2. carrie permalink
    September 30, 2007 2:42 am

    Oh. My. The swing picture is too, too cute. I need to go brush my teeth over here for fear of getting a cavity…

  3. Domestic Goddess permalink
    October 1, 2007 3:07 am

    That is one awesome surprise!

  4. Mommy Daisy permalink
    October 1, 2007 6:43 pm

    What great photos! It’s been a while since we’ve seen the girls. They are so grown up looking now.

    Thanks for telling the story. It was almost 2 years ago that I had my 20 week ultrasound finding out my son was indeed a son. You must not have had any ultrasounds before then. We had so many that it seems strange to me that other people do not.

  5. Mama's Moon permalink
    October 2, 2007 4:59 am

    I have no other words but “sweet”; they are absolutely sweet to look at! You’re so blessed! What a vacation – what a surprise!!!

  6. Morrisquads permalink
    October 5, 2007 9:01 pm

    That story brings back similar memories from when Geana was pregnant and we had to go to the hospital in Pittsburgh on Easter. Thanks for sharing!

    BTW – your secret is safe with us… you posted a comment on Mommy Daisy’s blog that linked back to my blog – and I that page showed up in my google analytics reports that I use to track traffic on our site a few weeks ago. I’ve been wanting to say something for awhile but didn’t get up the courage until now.

    The girls are so cute! I haven’t seen them since the Easter Egg hunt. They are getting big.

  7. Romie permalink
    October 9, 2007 10:40 pm

    They are beautiful 🙂

Leave a Reply

