Skip to content

Smacking Myself on the Head

October 8, 2007

*SMACK*

Just got home from my cousin’s house.

Have discovered that I left A’s sneakers at my cousin’s house.

My cousin lives over an hour and a half away.

*SMACK*

Lately I’ve found myself wondering how long I can let my girls go barefoot before the neighbors call Child Services on me. Guess I’m going to find out….

Bare feet: R has decided that she does not like to have her shoes on if she’s not walking around. This means that for every car ride or stroller walk we have at least one shoe and one sock comes off. The other day I was driving along and a sneaker flew up from the back seat and hit me on the arm. (Just 2 more years and we’re signing her up for softball!) By the time we arrive home it’s easier to take the other sock and shoe off. So, lately, R has spent a LOT of time running around our front yard barefoot. Thankfully, the weather has been beautiful so it’s not really an issue. Still, I figure there’s a point where people are gonna look at me funny if she’s barefoot.

Well, I better get off the computer and figure out what to do about A’s shoes for tomorrow. Unfortunately, I’m pretty sure my only choices are snow boots or bare feet.

*SMACK*

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mommy Daisy permalink
    October 8, 2007 2:30 am

    Hey, the Amish went without shoes until the first snowfall. 😉

  2. Perky permalink
    October 8, 2007 1:43 pm

    Don’t be too hard on yourself — I think it’s a pretty normal thing for kids! CutiePie was the same way — every trip in a stroller required shoes and socks to be stowed away in the basket! He still asks if a car trip is long enough for him to take his shoes off!!! Local trips he knows he has to keep them on, but if he doesn’t know where we’re going, it’s the first thing he asks me! I can’t tell you how many times I’ve had to stop at a Target along the way because a loose shoe fell out of the car at a rest stop or the shoes got left on the curb where he took them off or they were left at my cousin’s house because he walked into the car without his shoes on!!! ALL THE FREAKING TIME!!!

    Sorry – I guess that’s not much comfort, is it? At least, you’re not alone!

Leave a Reply

