Skip to content

Eats Her Own Poo

October 11, 2007

Every child develops differently. It’s just a fact. And, we all have this tendancy to compare our child to others. It’s even worse with twins because you have an instant comparison in the same home. I was at a playdate the other day and the mom was lamenting the fact that my girls are talking in sentences (if you consider “I got shoooes.” a sentence) while her twin boys, just three weeks younger, only have about 15 words total. This happend right after one of them was showing off her ability to identify letters of the alphabet. So here’s was my response to this mom:

“Sure, she can speak in sentences but she also eats her own poo. I’m thinkin’ she’s probably not genius material.”

Whenever you think that another child might be smarter/faster/stronger/better than your child, consider the fact that he/she might eat their own poo. And in 10 years you won’t be able to tell who ate their own poo from who didn’t speak in sentences at 21 months. (I hope!)

Note: Yes, one of my girls really did eat her own poo. It was one of those poo-on-the-floor-before-getting-in-the-bathtub-just-to-make-mommy-crazy nights. I was busy struggling with the other baby and towards the mouth it went before I even noticed. Ugh. Yuck. Gross. Eight months later and I’m still revolted. However, it does help make others feel better about their own children. It’s all about perspective.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Domestic Goddess permalink
    October 16, 2007 6:50 pm

    HAHAHAH!
    Poo… I was crying reading this, I was laughing so hard!
    You know, this is exactly why you should never try to compare your child to another of the same age. What’s the point? They all develop differently.

  2. Rachel permalink
    October 16, 2007 10:22 pm

    Ewww.

    And coming from me, that says a lot! 🙂

  3. carrie permalink
    October 16, 2007 11:17 pm

    HA! Oh my. That was my laugh for the day. I think perspective is a beautiful thing. Thanks for the “perspective” and the laugh.

    For the record: My parents have an eating poo story of me…and I turned out ok. I think, at least. 🙂

  4. Mommy Daisy permalink
    October 17, 2007 2:10 pm

    I agree with you. It drives me crazy that so many mothers are all about comparisons. Sometimes it’s ok, but can’t we talk about something else. I’m sure you know what I mean. Maybe that’s why I don’t have many other mom friends.

  5. mama k permalink
    October 19, 2007 11:50 am

    Profound! haha

    I also hate when my single friends think that I’m “ahead of them” because I’m married and have a child already. I’m sorry, life is not a race people!

Leave a Reply

