Skip to content

Date Night

October 23, 2007

Last Friday was a landmark event in our family history. DH and I went out. Together. Sans kids. For no particular reason. We accomplished something that hadn’t successfully occurred in almost two years. We went on a date.

This was the first time since the babies were born that we went out for a purpose other than celebrating a birthday/anniversary/holiday. We just went out. The best part about this night out was that I had finally managed to work out a babysitting trade. A friend of mine has toddler twins about the same age as my girls. She watched my girls on Friday night and I watched her kids on Saturday night. I got an entire baby-free evening with my husband at no cost and she got a baby-free evening with her husband at no cost. (Because I have to say that at the $$ some baby-sitters are charging these days our budget covers 4-5 hours of baby sitting ONLY if our plan is to sit in our car in the driveway all night…with the engine off because gas $$ is outrageous too.)

DH and I had a really nice evening together. We’re fairly new to the area and haven’t had a chance to check out any of the local restaurants. It was nice to be able to walk into a place that doesn’t have highchairs or crayons on the table. Thankfully, my babies decided to act like angels all evening for my friend so she even wants to do this again. Hopefully, we can make it a monthly exchange. ‘Cause I forgot how much I miss my husband.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. carrie permalink
    October 23, 2007 11:24 pm

    It’s like falling in love all over again, isn’t it? Heavenly. I have started telling all my friends who are having kids that my baby gift to them is some babysitting time when they are ready – I just think it is so important.

    And of course the girls were angels…they always act like that for other people, didn’t you know? 🙂

  2. Domestic Goddess permalink
    October 24, 2007 11:44 am

    How wonderful! A date “just because” is sometimes the best of all. I am glad you were able to do it!

  3. Nancy the Romancechick permalink
    October 25, 2007 10:00 pm

    Beloved and I got to go out on a date night recently when the Girl’s friend offered to take the Boy out to Chick-fil-a for doing well in kindergarten! We were kinda shocked when we realized that both kids were going to be gone one night, so we went out to dinner. It wasn’t as unusual as yours because our kids are older, but it was fun to actually anticipate it.

    Glad you got some time away!

  4. Anjali permalink
    October 29, 2007 11:57 pm

    Date night is WONDERFUL! So glad you had a chance to get out!

Leave a Reply

