Skip to content

It’s Only Tuesday.

October 30, 2007

It’s been a long week and it’s only Tuesday. In fact, it’s only lunchtime on Tuesday. Sigh. It all started while I was hurridly writing a check to drop off at the mailbox on our way to the store to buy milk. A. managed to reach the shelf where I keep my glasses. (Guess they are actually getting taller…) I leaped up from my seat at the dining room table to get them away from her. Too late – she had already snapped the left earpiece off.

While I was in the basement trying to figure out if duct tape or crazy glue would work better as a temporary fix for said glasses R. scribbled all over the checkbook and A. climbed on the dining room table and dumped salt everywhere. (Naturally, I had just refilled both the checkbook AND the salt shaker in the past 24 hours.)

Here’s where I realized I’ve made a huge strides in parenting over the past 22 months: I did not yell. I did not shout. I didn’t even cry or curse. I just cleaned up both messes, made the appropriate reprimands, and hustled everyone out the door to the store. (I did forget the bills to be mailed so I obviously have room to grow, but still!)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Domestic Goddess permalink
    October 31, 2007 12:13 am

    Ahhh…these are the days I try to laugh as much as possible. Because if I don’t laugh, I sure as heck know I’ll cry!
    Go you!

  2. Rachel permalink
    October 31, 2007 12:54 am

    Good for you for keeping your cool!

  3. carrie permalink
    October 31, 2007 6:06 am

    sometimes that is all you can do…buckle down, clean up the mess, and blog about it. 🙂 i hope the rest of your week goes better!

  4. Mommy Daisy permalink
    October 31, 2007 2:01 pm

    So, do you think the mommy brain is going away? I’d love to think that it gets better some day.

  5. Mommy Brain permalink
    November 1, 2007 6:51 pm

    I’d love to think the mommy brain goes away someday too. Sadly, I have no proof the it does. Especially since it took until today (Thursday) to finally mail the bills!

Leave a Reply

