Skip to content

I’m Back

November 16, 2007

Here’s what’s new:

I went without the Internet for a record 5 days. I did have to sneak a fix at the library twice. I didn’t realize how much my life revolves around the Internet. I felt like nothing could get done around here without it. Okay, I am the webmaster for my mothers club, and sure, I’m on a national committee run exclusively through email, and maybe I have this small addiction to the blog world….but I did not realize how much I relied on it for finding directions, looking up phone numbers, paying bills, the weather report, and (most importantly) printing out coupons.

Both kids can now climb completely out of the crib on their own. The good news is that A. can do it really well. The bad news is that R. sees her sister climb out and just goes head first. So far, they only do this (knock on wood) when I’m in the room to catch them. We’re purchasing one crib tent to see how it goes. Half the people I talk to say to switch to toddler beds but I just don’t feel ready. I need ONE place in the house that is completely safe. A friend of mine has twins who are 3 weeks younger than my girls and she switched to beds when they started climbing out. The last time I visited ALL of the furniture from the nursery was sitting in the hallway. So, while $70 feels like a lot, I just don’t have enough room in my hallway for their furniture. And if we need to buy a second one I’ll just have to sell a kidney or something.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Mommy Daisy permalink
    November 16, 2007 10:10 pm

    Glad you have the internet back. I would be bored. (So would my husband.) Exciting lives we lead huh?

    I would go for the bed tents too. My son hasn’t tried climbing out yet, but I’m not looking forward to it. A friend of mine moved her son into a toddler bed when he was 15 months, because he was climbing out. Yikes! I could never have done that! I hope the one tent works well.

  2. Perky permalink
    November 17, 2007 1:56 am

    Let me know if you want two matching, white, great condition toddler beds! My boys have been in bunk beds since last year and I still have their toddler beds and mattresses in the basement. They’re yours if you want them! I think I have some bedding, too! Let me know!

  3. Rachel permalink
    November 17, 2007 3:23 am

    I switched the boys’ cribs to toddler beds once they started climbing out. Good luck with it!!! I’m glad you’re back on-line – I’ve missed reading your updates. 🙂

  4. Domestic Goddess permalink
    November 17, 2007 3:02 pm

    I don’t know if your crib coverts, but I was able to drop the side off the cribs, put a guard rail up and use it as a “toddler bed.” That way it was the SAME BED and there was no real transition until later, when they got real big boy beds. I took the side of the crib off and then got a TALL GATE for the bedroom door and babyproofed the room to the max (outlets, dresser locked, window guard, all breakablese out) so that when they climbed out of bed they were still safe. I still never really left them alone in there long.

  5. Lucy T permalink
    November 17, 2007 6:24 pm

    Maybe one of the local consignment shops around this county will have a used tent?

  6. Morrisquads permalink
    November 19, 2007 5:37 pm

    Call me! James is officially done with his tent as of last weekend.

    One slight problem – he’s torn a hole through the netting so that he could escape. (We’ve decided that it’s time for them to get rid of the tents, anyway, so we’re not replacing the netting). This happened with Robby as well (months and months ago) and we just called the manufacturer and they sent us new netting for free. (apparently this is a common problem with their product) We have the rods and framework for it, we’d just have to call them and let them know that we need netting again. If they do charge something it would be significantly less than buying the whole thing.

  7. Marie Green permalink
    November 20, 2007 5:39 pm

    Give me internet or give me death!

Leave a Reply

