Skip to content

Caged Monkeys

November 19, 2007

When I originally posted that my two little monkeys were climbing into the “wrong” crib, Morrisquads suggested crib tents. I really wanted the kind that go under the mattress because I’ve heard of kids figuring out how to remove the kind that just attach to the top rails. This meant I had to purchase new because none of the four consignment stores I called had this type. $140 for two. It seemed like a big purchase for something that they will only use for a short time. So wrong. I have to say that they are worth every penny.

Friday I headed to the store as soon as they were up from their nap and installed them immediately. They weren’t too difficult to put together and seemed pretty foolproof. When bedtime arrived I was nervous that they would be scared or upset or feel caged. Silly me. They actually tried to climb INTO the crib. I did have to talk it up a little to A., telling her how excited she must be to sleep under a princess canopy. But they both snuggled down under their blanket, stared at their new “roof” and went quietly to bed.

Three days (and three naptimes) later, and it’s going beautifully. Even if they figure out how to get out today it was worth it. Having three full toddler-free hours in a row to eat, shower, clean, up, and blog is priceless. Added to that, I don’t have to pick up the stuffed animals and blankets they used to throw on the floor, and I’m not constantly panicked that they’re going to break an arm or leg. The last part was the biggest reason I wanted them. The only way to really childproof their room would be to remove all furniture because they are scarily good climbers. Plus, I need to be able to get things done during naptime without running upstairs for every crash/bang/cry. After all, there are important things to be done…like catching up on the blog world….

5 Comments leave one →
  1. carrie permalink
    November 20, 2007 1:44 pm

    yahoo!!! that IS good news!

  2. Marie Green permalink
    November 20, 2007 5:43 pm

    Crib tents tip filed away for future use. Thanks!

  3. Mommy Daisy permalink
    November 20, 2007 8:58 pm

    That sounds like it’s working great. I’d be with you on the whole “being worth it” thing too.

    I wanted to e-mail you about the comment you left on my blog, but I don’t have your e-mail. You can reply to this, because I have my e-mail on my blogger profile. Anyway, then I’ll share with you what I wanted to.

  4. Lynne permalink
    November 23, 2007 7:21 am

    So far none of ours have shown much interest in climbing out of their cribs (watch them try tonight now). My oldest never did either.

    I have the crib tent thing in the back of my mind if/when it happens. I’m also not ready for toddler beds. The thought makes be sweat a little.

  5. Anjali permalink
    November 27, 2007 5:17 pm

    Glad you found the perfect solution!

Leave a Reply

