Skip to content

Open Wide

November 28, 2007

Obviously, after being cooped up in the house for four days and still having coughs and runny noses, the best place for us to head this morning was to the dentist. It was their very first trip and I’ve been dreading it for weeks. Especially the past few days when I realized they’d be just getting over their cold when we had our appointment. Images of us stuck in the waiting room for hours, screams and tears and struggles in the chair, and full out tantrums danced through my head. Thank goodness I was wrong.

We picked a GREAT pediatric dentist. Several members of my MOMs club had raved about this practice so it was no surprise that we ran into not one but TWO other sets of twins there. What was a surprise was that after a 5 minute wait we were called back. Five minutes. I’ve had longer waits at Mc.Don.alds. Everything was so child friendly and the staff was excellent. A. still fussed a bit but she hates getting her teeth brushed so it wasn’t a surprise. R. did great and loved the toys they gave her when she was finished. The only bad point was the dentist informing me that A. will most definitely need braces and R. has a 50% chance. I guess they’re giving me 10 years notice so we can start saving. Yikes!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mommy Daisy permalink
    November 28, 2007 7:44 pm

    Wow, I haven’t thought too much about taking Zachariah to the dentist yet. There is a pediatric dentist office in town, so that will probably be where we go. I think we’ll wait until he’s closer to 3.

    I can’t believe that they can tell already they will need braces. They grow and change and then lose their baby teeth. Who can tell how they’ll come in. Who knew? Guess the warnings probably nice, though.

  2. Mommy Brain permalink
    November 28, 2007 8:11 pm

    The way they explained the braces thing with A. is that there is already crowding and that they like the teeth to have spaces at this age so there’s plenty of room for the adult teeth to come in. It made sense since both girls are small (10th percentile) but were early teethers (4months old) and have all but their top two year molars in. Hopefully they’ll hit a big growth spurt but in the meantime I’ll just make sure that when/if I go back to work that I pick an employer whose benefits cover orthodontics 100%!!

  3. Domestic Goddess permalink
    November 29, 2007 1:40 pm

    I had to try three “pediatric” dentists before I found one in Broomall that also takes care of kids with special needs. They are great, we rarely wait AT ALL and although Bugaboo still cries (and has to be restrained, unfortunately) they are sooo fast that it is over and done with in less than a half-hour. Perfect for us.
    Luckily, Bug Boy’s teeth are like his Dad’s. Perfect already, plenty of spacing, his new teeth are gorgeous. Bugaboo, on the other hand, has a significantly smaller lower jaw, tons of crowding and already has crooked teeth. He will be a bear with braces, I can tell you. Plus, he resists tooth brushing, it takes two of us to do it. Fun times…
    Hope y’all are feeling better!

Leave a Reply

