Skip to content

Poos on her Foot

November 29, 2007

I came to an important decision about potty training yesterday. On the drive to the dentist A. was throwing a fit and I was telling her “A., stop it!” Naturally, she continued crying. Then R. chimed in with “A., A., stup it. A., No, no, no.” R. was perfectly calm and serious and patient. And A. stopped carrying on. So my new idea for potty training is to train R. and then have HER train A.

In all seriousness, I’m dreading potty training more than the idea of two teenagers going through puberty at the exact same time. Unfortunately, thanks to Elmo’s Potty Time DVD, my kids are very interested in the potty. A few weeks ago we were having “naked upstairs time” (period after bathtime where the babies run around without clothes on our non-carpeted hallway) and R. looked like she needed to poo. I foolishly asked her “R, do you need to go potty?” and to my surprise she said Yes. Then I asked her if she wanted to sit on the potty. And, even bigger surprise, she said Yes. We went to the bathroom, sat her on the potty and she shut the door in my face. I waited a few minutes, came back in, and found that she had actually pooped in the potty! (Don’t get too excited, she also managed to poo on the front of her foot…still trying to figure out the mechanics of that one…)

Which leads me to the dilemma of whether to:
1. Train just R. now since she shows an interest but potentially spend the next three years of my life potty training.
2. Wait until both girls are ready so I can train together. Although I’m nervous about the whole window of opportunity concept and what if they have their windows at different times?
3. Wait a year because the thought of potty training makes me want to get an easier job outside the home like nuclear physicist or human punching bag.
4. Investigate colleges that will accept students still wearing diapers.

My pediatrician friend referred me to the readiness cues checklist in a particular book. It was helpful but didn’t really mention anything about training twins OR have anything on the checklist like “Parent is ready to start training when her blood no longer runs cold at the thought.” My eye twitch is probably a sign that I’m not ready.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Mommy Daisy permalink
    November 30, 2007 2:41 am

    We’ve had one positive poopoo potty success too. No peepees in the potty though…yet. Like you, I caught Zachariah at the right time and he said OK. Then he sat quietly and went in the potty. He is interested off and on in sitting on the potty, but we’ve got nothing yet. He doesn’t sit for long. So, I’m not pushing it. But I do ask before and after bedtime and naps and before diaper changes if he’d like to use the potty.

    Maybe this would be a good way for you to go too. Otherwise it sounds like you’ll go nuts. And we can’t have that now, can we?! I say only do it if they want to go. Otherwise don’t worry about it too much.

  2. Lynne permalink
    November 30, 2007 6:43 am

    Oh, I too dread this.

    My oldest was hard to train because we had three new babies in the house and I coulnd’t pay as much attention to him as I should have.

    There are endless discussions on the Atlanta Triplet forum I belong to. It seems like every 3 months it comes up again. Most train all three at once unless there is a physical or cognitive reason not to.

    Two of my three are talking about the potty. One of my boys has tinkled and my little girl has poo pooed 3 times. . . I am no where near ready for this. I was hoping to wait until they were closer to 3. We’ll see.

    Good luck.

  3. Rachel permalink
    December 1, 2007 3:23 pm

    I remember researching everything I could about potty training two, trying to decide how to do it at the same time. Ultimately, what worked for Brendon did NOT work for Aaron at all. Brendon trained at 3 and Aaron trained this summer (at 5 1/2). Now obviously we later figured out that Aaron has Asperger’s and that added to the difficulty, but I think what it taught me is that kids will train when they’re ready. Look for readiness signs and if they show them at different times, train them at different times. And who knows, positive peer pressure (one wanting to do what the other was doing) might work for your girls, even if it didn’t for my guys!

  4. Trace permalink
    December 5, 2007 5:44 pm

    When I heard the potty blues on the potty DVD I was in hysterics. Hmmm, poo on the foot? You have to wonder about that one.

Leave a Reply

