Skip to content

Dangerous Health Age

December 5, 2007

Turns out that 27 is a dangerous health age. In the past two months I’ve been in physical therapy for my knees, been to the doctor’s office four times while they try to figure out my mysterious back pain, had an ultrasound, CT scan, scheduled an X-Ray, and have a prescription for physical therapy on my back. I’ve also started on four different medications, the latest trying to solve whatever is wrong with my stomach.

Since I would like my 29th year to go better than my 28th (which ends in a few weeks, yay!), we decided to join the YMCA. This was a good choice for several reasons. 1. They have a swimming pool. 2. They have child care. 3. They have child care. 4. They have child care. 5. I can do my physical therapy program on my own for about $40 less per month. 6. They have child care.

Child care is the biggest reason that my recent physical therapy on my knees did not go as well as it did 6 years ago. (I’ve got knee caps that track funny and was told that “pregnancy really destroys your body” so they put me back in therapy to re-correct it. I’m now mostly pain free as opposed to awake at 3am writhing in agony. Added to that my old job was sitting a desk full time while my new job is running after toddlers all day. Big difference in strain to my knees.)

I’m making good use of our membership which is yet another reason I’m having a slow blog week. I have to say, there is nothing like going to the gym at 11am and working out with all of the senior citizens. Because nothing tells you how out of shape you are like working out with all of the senior citizens. Seriously, it’s embarassing when you have to lower the weight by 100 pounds on a machine after a 70-year old just finished with it. My Old Year’s Resolution (new term I learned from Anjali) is to continue to go 3 times per week.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Lucy T permalink
    December 5, 2007 9:39 pm

    Yes, the Y and child care – what a wonderful and affordable invention. Now I suppose you joined my Y but don’t know which branch you attend? I to the branch that is the newer of the two since it is closer to me.

  2. Domestic Goddess permalink
    December 7, 2007 3:09 am

    Yes, I also belong to this Y, the same one as Lucy. Do you go the L Y or the RY?
    Childcare is ALSO the reason I joined the Y!

  3. ETownDZ permalink
    December 15, 2007 1:42 pm

    That’s my goal for the new year: go back to the gym (also my local YMCA). I can’t wait to get my babysitter all set up, and then hit the Y with the old men. It’s going to kick my butt, though. Man, pregnancy did a number on me, too! I didn’t used to have so many aches and pains. Who knew I’d feel old at 29.

Leave a Reply

