Skip to content

Naked Toddlers

December 7, 2007

When my girls were around 9 months old, my MOMs club handed out a list of helpful resources and phone numbers. It was great. If you had questions about anything from postpartum depression to allergies/asthma there was someone in the club for you to call. I skimmed the toddler section and found that you could call someone about “Naked Toddlers.” I found the topic pretty funny and could not for the life of me understand what it actually meant.

I’ve learned.

My girls have developed an absolute resistance to clothing. It was amusing when it was warm enough to leave play dates in just diapers. It is not amusing in the winter when shoes, socks, pants, and shirt are required but suddenly a fate worse than death. Thankfully, they are okay with wearing onesies because I think having to duct tape their diapers on would send me over the edge.

What’s most aggravating about this is that they like to put on clothes. The wrong clothes. R. will sit there saying “pants” while pulling a shirt over her legs. And she gets really upset if I try to put the shirt, well, where the shirt actually goes. This morning she is wearing a sweatshirt around her waist like a skirt. (I’m picking my battles.) And where are the pants? On her head. Because she requested a hat. Worse, they can take a lot of stuff off by themselves. Their pajamas were gone in the time it took to unzip their crib tents. Leaving the house requires getting dressed next to the front door so they don’t have time to take everything off before we leave.

Hopefully, this too, will pass. In the meantime, I’m saving on laundry.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Mommy Daisy permalink
    December 7, 2007 4:27 pm

    “In the meantime, I’m saving on laundry.”

    I love that! At least there’s a good side to it. My son likes to run around naked for a while in the morning before I put his clothes on. So far he hasn’t been bad about taking clothes off.

  2. Nowheymama permalink
    December 7, 2007 10:18 pm

    We are currently fighting battles about mittens and gloves. I’ve found that gloves with characters on them are acceptable, while all others are not. Who knew?

  3. carrie permalink
    December 8, 2007 8:14 am

    yeah, crank up your heat…it will pass. next up will be dressing-up. princesses all the time. everywhere you go.

    i almost prefer nakey…

  4. Kelsey permalink
    December 11, 2007 7:40 pm

    Harper is three and STILL prefers to run around the house only in her underware, and sometimes socks or slippers. Makes me cold just to look at her.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog — how did you come across it?

    The holidays should be fun with twins! 🙂

Leave a Reply

