Skip to content

Twin Talk

December 14, 2007

When my girls first began to talk many people asked if they had their own secret language. Having read volumes on the subject I knew that true secret language between twins is more of a myth than anything. Still, it is fascinating to watch these two little humans use real speech patterns in their babble. Here are a few “conversations” lately:

Conspiring against mommy:

R: (having just woken up says to A., with clear eye contact and a questioning tone) gibberish, gibberish, gibberish, Mommy.

A: (looking at R. with a very firm tone) gibberish, gibberish, gibberish, Mommy!! (points to me! yikes!)

Consensus decision making:

Me: Okay girls, do you want to go outside?
R: A., ow-side?
A: No, no, ow-side.
R: gibberish, gibberish, ow-SIDE.
A: ow-side. yes. (walks to door)

Gathering opinions:
R: gibberish, gibberish, gibberish, babble, babble, babble.
A: NO!!! (complete with finger wag and head shake. I am dying to know what R. said. Dying.)

My other favorite part of this stage of language development is seeing them develop behaviors that I’ve been consciously and unconsciously modeling. For instance, R. has actually been saying “Thank-goo” when people give her stuff. Now, for all I know she thinks “thank you” really means “get your grubby paws off my stuff” but still, it sounds good. And completely out of the blue she started saying “scuse me” when trying to squeeze past people. I don’t think I ever tried to teach her that one. Which probably means she thinks “excuse me” means “get outta my way, lady” but, hey, it’s a start.

Good news=showing manners because Mommy and Daddy do. Bad news=must watch my behavior next time I’m cut off on the highway. 😉

3 Comments leave one →
  1. allmomshops permalink
    December 15, 2007 6:49 am

    heehee! I love reading this because I agree the conversations between twins at this age can be eerie!

    Thanks for visiting my blog . . . we have a supergate around our tree too LOL, but they are DETERMINED that it is still accessible and pull things off of it one way or another sooooo we’ll see LOL!

    Merry Christmas!
    Shera (A Frog In My Soup)

  2. baby~amore' permalink
    December 15, 2007 7:09 am

    hi – first time visitor – love to meet twin mums. I can’t wait till my twin terrors really talk and I can see if this twin talk stuff exists.Thanks for visiting my blog.
    Very cute little daughters you have by the sound of it.

  3. Mommy Daisy permalink
    December 16, 2007 2:34 am

    It sure would be nice to at least have a closed caption translation running under them as they talk. My son will tell us something over and over and over…like we should know EXACTLY what he’s saying. Sometimes I can figure it out after a while, but it would be much easier with closed captioning. 😉

Leave a Reply

