Skip to content

Cakes and Elmo, Perfect Together

December 18, 2007

Check one thing off my list, I’ve taken a cake decorating class! Last month I signed up for the Wilton I class at my local craft store. They were having a sale and I’m a sucker for a sale. So I went ahead and signed up. Four classes later and I have learned a lot about decorating cakes and even more about eating them. (You make a cake each week. What does a family of just two cake-eaters do with a cake per week???)

In week 2 you learn how to transfer patterns on a cake. We got to pick what pattern we used so it was no surprise that I came home with this:
What was a surprise was that it actually resembles Elmo.
Week 3 we made clown cakes but my clowns were smushed before I got a chance to take a picture. By Week 4 of cake baking I had a serious Mommy Brain Moment where I didn’t realize it was Wednesday and forgot to actually make a cake. That was the week we learned how to make roses. By this class I was tired of making cakes and tired of tasting icing. (The Wilton recipe for frosting is really, really sweet. You know that instinct where you lick your fingers/spoon/bowl while frosting a cake? Let’s just say I’m still gagging at the thought of any more frosting.) So all of my sad little roses went into the trash at the end of class.
Still, I feel competent enough now that I could make the girls’ birthday cake and not be laughed at. Even better, I had four really great nights out of the house where I didn’t have to change diapers or wrestle someone into pajamas. I’m beginning to realize how important that is for my own sanity.
3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mommy Daisy permalink
    December 19, 2007 3:13 pm

    That was a great idea to take a cake class. I do pretty well decorating cakes, but I think I’d learn more from a class. Or maybe I should just have my mom teach me. She used to decorate cakes to sell. They were always so beautiful.

    Your Elmo turned out great. I can’t wait to see what you do for the girls’ birthday cake.

  2. Shera permalink
    December 19, 2007 5:08 pm

    How fun is that! I used to make all my kids’ birthday cakes and lessons would have come in handy! Thankfully though my sis now makes all their cakes and it is fantastic!

    Happy WW!
    Shera

  3. carrie permalink
    December 19, 2007 10:37 pm

    My mom makes these amazing cakes, and I always hoped that it would rub off on me, but alas…it really hasn’t . You have to be so patient…so mine are always a little lopsided and not quite there…but I do like to try.

    I totally agree with needing the nights out, though…that is worth the price of any class!

Leave a Reply

