Skip to content

Packaging

December 27, 2007

Q: Do you know what’s worse than it taking 10 minutes to remove 150 wires and 400 pieces of tape to release a toy from it’s box?
A: A toddler screaming for said toy as you struggle.

Q: Do you know what’s worse than a toddler screaming for said toy?
A: The toddler’s twin sister screaming just as loud for the same toy as FIL battles the same wires and tape.

Q: Do you know what’s worse than two toddlers screaming for their toys?
A: The screams from toddler #2 when one toy is freed but the other toy is still being worked on. My ears are still ringing. My fingers are still sore. My kids are not patient. Is this packaging really necessary???

Aside from the Fort Knox boxes that the toys came in, Christmas was quite merry. The girls were a little more into it this year. They were able to be our little elves and hand packages from under the tree to people. They even thought it was fun! Then they learned how to tear off wrapping paper. Even more fun! I’m looking forward to next year when they’ll be old enough to understand what Christmas is. (So far I can only get them to say “Happy Jesus” and “Merry.” )

Since the kids aren’t really outgrowing their clothes (still wearing the clothes they received for their FIRST birthday), toys were pretty much it this holiday. My subtle hints for things like zoo membership or gymboree classes were evidently too subtle. Next year I’m going to take out a newspaper ad or something because it looks like Santa’s workshop threw up in my living room. I shudder to think what it’ll look like after their birthday.

I took December 26th off so I could recover from Christmas. I read three whole books. I laid on the couch. I took a nap. I changed zero diapers. I love my husband who took over completely yesterday with only mild protest. Naturally, I returned the favor and today DH is “off.” Which means I better get back to “work.”

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Rachel permalink
    December 30, 2007 5:41 pm

    At what point did toy manufacturers decide all toys needed to be secured to their packaging with wires and tape and brackets and even more wire? Julia was sick after Christmas and desparately wanted a baby doll to go with a new crib/changing table she got. Because she was sick, I gave in and got her one at Target. I KNEW she wouldn’t be able to wait to hug the baby once I got home, so I found myself removing it from the packaging at every red light on the drive home. I found myself wishing for more red lights because it was taking SO long!

  2. Romie permalink
    January 4, 2008 7:43 pm

    I hate how they do that, we didn’t open all the present’s boxes at Christmas times and are still experiencing the joy of this packaging – ugh!

  3. The four little penguins say: permalink
    March 16, 2008 9:25 pm

    Really difficult ones we undo BEFORE we wrap! Ones from relatives, THEY untie!!! LOL! No, really I have a niece that unties them for us.
    And I can definitely relate to the Santa’s workshop explosion!!! Four small kids in one little apartment made an incredibly HUGE mess!!!

Leave a Reply

