Skip to content

Congratulations to Me

December 30, 2007

I have officially survived 2 whole years of parenthood. Bonus, the kids have survived as well.

Two years ago I arrived at the hospital for my scheduled C-Section. Scheduled because Baby B was over a certain percent bigger than Baby A which means there is a risk of Baby B getting stuck after Baby A exits. I flat out refused to end up having to go through both types of births so C-section it was.

I’ll never forget lying on the table and the doctor laughing at Baby B who was trying to get out first. (Baby A is the one “closest to the exit” and is the one that is born first.) No surprise that my little R. (Baby B) tends to be the “dominant” twin. It’s so hard to believe that two whole years have gone by. In one way it feels like I gave birth yesterday and in another way it feels like they have always been a part of this family.

Today we did not celebrate their birthday. (Which is good since I still haven’t wrapped their gifts.) We were invited to a wedding today and after much debate decided to attend. At this age they don’t really understand that today is their birthday. So we will celebrate with my family tomorrow and with DH’s family on New Year’s Day. We also declined to throw any sort of party for them. After all of the first birthday madness last year I decided that we wouldn’t throw another party until they understood what a birthday was….or could at least say birthday. Since they will only sing “Happy to you, happy to you” I’m assuming I’m safe until next year.

Happy to you, A! Happy to you, R!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Rachel permalink
    December 30, 2007 5:38 pm

    Happy Birthday, Girls!!!

    And Congratulations to Mommy!

  2. carrie permalink
    December 31, 2007 4:30 pm

    Man, I’m late – but I hope you had a very fun birthday celebration! Happy Birthday Girls!

    (And 2 successful years with one deserves a glass of wine…I think with two girls deserves a bottle! Congrats!!)

  3. Mommy Daisy permalink
    January 2, 2008 4:11 pm

    Happy Birthday R & A!

    Happy 2 years of successsful parenting to you!

  4. Staci Schoff permalink
    January 6, 2008 8:21 pm

    I’m in awe of you — I barely survived the first two years of motherhood with only 1 kid (though in my defense, I WAS pregnant the second half of the second year). Happy birthday to R and A!

  5. Kari & Kijsa permalink
    January 11, 2008 3:49 am

    Happy birthday to your girls!!

    blessings,
    kari & kijsa

  6. Woman with a Hatchet permalink
    January 24, 2008 6:31 am

    Happy 2nd Mommy anniversary, MB! What was baby B *doing* that meant she was trying to get out first?

    Do tell!

    And thanks for dropping by my humble abode!

Leave a Reply

