Skip to content

Cooking Dinner

March 5, 2008

I’ve spent most of the morning trying to get dinner ready. Normally, this would consist of going down to the chest freezer in the basement and pulling out something to cook. Today it involved:

1. Walking to the basement door then getting distracted by the toddlers trying to kill each other in the next room. Break up fight (Do you think if I shave their heads they’ll stop pulling each others hair or will it just cause them to pull something else?), set them up with new activities, head back to the basement door.

2. On the way to the basement door pass through the kitchen and remember that I still have to finish eating my breakfast even if it is 10:30 am.

3. Clean up dishes from breakfast, unload dishwasher….oh right! dinner!

4. Walk down the basement stairs. Notice that there is still a bunch of stuff on the chest freezer. Take five minutes to go through a box, put away a box, generate a small box of trash.

5. Take the trash out the back basement door.

6. Jump a mile and give slight scream upon sighting the severly drowned possum in the trash can. (Eww, it looked an awful lot like the stuffed weasels from I.KEA that my kids sleep with. Ewwww.)

7. Run upstairs to call animal control. Person I speak to tells me that it’s probably not dead, avoid the area because they bite, and they’ll send someone right out. Feel completely grossed out now that I’ve thrown a box of trash on a non-dead opposum.

8. Spend the next half hour reading to the kids and wondering if they’ll actually show up because they didn’t when this happened to my friend who lives four blocks over.

9. Noon. Surprise, surprise. Animal warden arrives and unpacks all his animal catching gear. Then, looks in the trashcan pokes the animal a few times and declares that it is one dead possum. He returns all the gear to the truck and comes back with a plastic bag. I watched him haul it away because I wanted proof that there were no more animals in my trash.

10. Call my friend to share my similiar possum experience and vent over how creepy it is to find an animal in your trash.

11. Serve the kids lunch, clean up the lunch dishes and realize that you still haven’t figured out what’s for dinner.

12. Finally, head to basement, fish something out of the freezer, and head back upstairs.

This is the most exhausting dinner I have ever prepared.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mommy Daisy permalink
    March 5, 2008 6:58 pm

    Wow, I hope it’s not that hard for you to cook dinner every night. I’d give it up, that’s for sure.

  2. Kristin.... permalink
    March 5, 2008 7:36 pm

    I LOVE it. Haven’t had the possum issue, thank goodness. But dinner is our LEAST favorite meal to make….too much planning, too many children who a) eat at 4:30 and we eat at 6, b) say “ewww, that’s gross) or c) are too sick these days to eat anything we prepare.

    and no, if you shave their heads, they’ll just bang toys onto each other!

Leave a Reply

