Skip to content

You Know You Need to Clean When…

March 6, 2008

A few days ago I left the house in a big, big hurry. DH was out with the kids and I had lost track of time. In my rush, I forgot to lock the front door. DH arrived home and checked around to make sure there wasn’t a break in. Now, I would see the computer and TV still sitting there and assume that no one broke in to steal the Little People Monkey (which I still can’t find). DH, on the other hand, rips apart the house looking for the checkbook (that I had with me.) His comment when I arrived home? It’s hard to tell if someone broke in since there was so much stuff on the floor.

Yeah, I guess it’s time to clean up around here since you can’t tell if we’ve been burglarized or not. (To be fair, the house was pretty much a disaster. I’d had a busy weekend and was on “vacation” from housework for four days. And, to be even fairer, DH had been doing pretty much whatever housework was actually completed during my “vacation.”)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Kristin.... permalink
    March 6, 2008 9:54 pm

    HA! I love it! If I can walk into my living room without tripping on a toy, it is some sort of miracle. AND, I have this lovely island in my kitchen, but honestly, I have no idea what color it is anymore.

    LOVE your new template!

  2. carrie permalink
    March 6, 2008 11:18 pm

    Ack! Little People Monkey is missing? A kidnapping plot…hmmm…

    Hee! I love it.
    I also LOVE the new template. So springy and fun.

  3. cltgrace permalink
    March 8, 2008 9:44 pm

    Funny & oh, soooo true! I could chronicle a few “you know you need to clean when…” posts myself. :o)

  4. A day in the life of Heather permalink
    March 9, 2008 4:34 am

    so funny! one day i left the door not only unlocked, but OPEN! I guess we live in a pretty safe neighborhood or if any one came to door they took one look inside and said, I don’t think so! It was pretty messy that day!

  5. Fern permalink
    March 9, 2008 2:22 pm

    I can SOOOO relate! My husband does most of the housework and cooking, and the place is nearly always a complete disaster. I don’t know how to control the flow of toys throughout the entire house.

    Thanks for the comment on my blog! We found out about our twins at 19-20 weeks — I am surprised at how many people don’t find out until late in the pregnancy! It happened to another girl I worked with at the same time as me.

    I’ll be back!

  6. MightyMom permalink
    March 18, 2008 11:32 am

    I consider the stuff on my living room floor my security system!!

    I’d LOVE to see someone try to break in!! They’d just wind up breaking their leg!!!!

Leave a Reply

