Skip to content

Daylight Savings

March 10, 2008

If you’re “new” to the blog and stopped by for the party visit my Ultimate Blog Party Post! (I’m having such a great time visiting all the parties. If you don’t know what I’m talking about, join the fun at 5minutesformom.com.)

Daylight savings has got to go. Okay, in the fall I didn’t mind the time change too much. It just meant we were early for everything. But this whole spring forward thing is killing me – and it’s just day two! The biggest problem revolves around when the girls wake up. Usually anytime between 8:30am and 9:30am. Which means today when they woke up at 8:45am it was really 9:45am to the rest of the world. Which means it’s almost 11am, I have an errand list a mile long, and we’re never going to leave the house because they’re still eating breakfast. (Oh yeah, it also takes a hour to get dressed because they’re cranky about being woken up. Plus, is this really the best time for the two year molars to be coming in???)

I tried, I really tried to slowly adjust them to this by getting them up a little earlier each day. We were doing pretty good until the actual time change occurred. Now, part of this is because DH didn’t know about my plan and let them wake up naturally on Sunday. But still, there has to be a better way than to mess up my toddler’s schedule twice a year. Really, I’d love if daylight savings were made permanent cause the extra daylight in the evening is a nice thing.

The good part of DST is that spring is on it’s way! Yesterday, I went through some of the spring/summer hand-me-downs we received from a friend. She included one particular item as a joke since I’m not a fan of certain types of swimsuits on babies. I put said suit on the only place it felt appropriate – cheesecake Elmo.

Really, what is with that pose?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Mommy Daisy permalink
    March 10, 2008 6:17 pm

    Oh, I like your pretty new page! And Elmo is hilarious!!

    I’m lucky (and I know it) my son likes to sleep and has never seemed too affeced by DST. He adjusts REALLY well.

    YEAH for new spring clothes. I was just looking at ads today for toddler clothes. I want to run to one store, because they have a sale today only. But that means first I should try some of last summer’s shorts on Zachariah and see what size I think he’ll need. I have a feeling he can still wear some from last year. I am looking forward to finally shopping for new clothes though (it was much more fun when he was growing faster and needed new clothes more frequently).

  2. Kristin.... permalink
    March 10, 2008 6:47 pm

    Oh I would give anything for my kids to sleep until 6:30! 8:30 would be some sort of miracle!
    And I too can’t stand DST. It wasn’t dark until after 6:30 last night. ugh.

  3. oh amanda permalink
    March 10, 2008 6:49 pm

    An elmo bikini! LOL!

    I hear you w/DST. UGH.

  4. Saly permalink
    March 11, 2008 3:34 pm

    I love Elmo in the Bikini. HA!!!

  5. MrsMomma permalink
    March 11, 2008 4:23 pm

    LOL @ Elmo! Haha!

    I’m with you on DST! My kiddos have the same problem with sleeping too late…

    I’m glad you & your girls enjoyed my RTM,M post! Thanks for visiting!

    -Heather

  6. carrie permalink
    March 11, 2008 8:39 pm

    let’s band together – Mommies Unite Against DST! it must be stopped!

    i love that it stays light longer…but when trying to get the girlies to bed by 7:30ish like normal, it is IMPOSSIBLE! the morning hasn’t been too bad, but they are not sleeping as much. sheesh.

    that elmo is cracking me up, though!

Leave a Reply

